• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
social media

Using social media such as Facebook, Xing or Twitter has become part of everyday life for many people. Social media help people to maintain and extend their social networks. Social relationships are (semi-)publicly displayed; social contexts collapse and members from different groups receive the same information. This information is usually displayed in so-called feeds, short messages often presented out of context. At the same time, social media explicitly ask for information sharing and present incentives for sharing by displaying activity in profiles. Social media thereby influence with whom and how people share information and knowledge. The junior research group Social Media is thus mainly interested in how social media affect (professional) knowledge exchange.


Next to the cognitive component – knowing who knows what – the emotional component, namely trust in the interaction partner, plays a major role in professional knowledge sharing. The junior research group studies these cognitive and emotional processes often in professional settings, e.g., on business networks such as Xing or LinkedIn, but also in online experiments. The group also examines how visualizations can help people to process complex volumes of data and to make better decisions. The results from these studies are relevant for the praxis field knowledge work with digital media.


Many people are nowadays permanently connected with their network via smartphones and other digital media. The junior research group also studies how the changed communication patterns (e.g., many short, rather mundane messages instead of longer and more intimate conversations) affect social relationships and emotions.

Team social media

Projects

Ambient Awareness

Most news on social media are only skimmed and not read attentively. However, regular skimming of such messages is by no means useless, but can help to develop so-called ambient awareness, an awareness of who is doing what and who knows what in the network. Based on preliminary work from the ERC project ReDeftie, the underlying processes and effects will be further investigated.

Dr. Tide: Digital Research Tailored Information Detector

Organizations have to process and understand their internal data. In order to do so, many organizations use visualization tools to design graphs and tables. However, when actually designing these visualizations, often questions emerge: How should complex data be visualized to improve decision making? How can cognitive overload of the users be prevented? How flexible or interactive should self-service visualization options be?

Informal learning with YouTube

The video-sharing platform YouTube is meanwhile the 2nd largest search engine. “How to…” videos can be found for almost any topic – ranging from make-up tips over solutions for software problems to reparing washing machines. These videos can provide an easy and cheap access to learning opportunities for everybody. How frequently are they used for informal learning and which role does the protagonist play?

Overcoming cognitive and motivational barriers for networking: contact recommendation systems in professional settings

The project investigates which factors have a positive or negative impact on networking behavior in professional settings, and how these factors can be promoted or attenuated respectively. In addition to studying the influencing factors, an algorithm for recommender systems in professional social media will be developed. The project goal is to make networking on professional social media platforms easier, thereby helping knowledge workers with their work.

Parental Mobile Media use for Stress Management

Mobile media have become part of the everyday lifes of families and are used in various ways. However, current research still focuses relatively little on the use of media by parents. The aim of this dissertation project is to investigate how parents use mobile media such as smartphones to cope with stress and under which circumstances stress management with mobile media is successful.

Trust and sport consumption

Crises are frequent in sport, be they doping or poor performance. How do such crises influence confidence in athletes and ultimately the demand for sporting events? Most professional athletes and teams now have profiles on social media such as Facebook or Instagram. Do these more direct interactions with athletes (comments, likes) lead to a stronger bond that can mitigate the negative effects of a crisis?

Former Projects

graduation papers

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Soziale Medien

Die Nutzung von sozialen Medien wie Facebook, Xing oder Twitter ist für viele Menschen mittlerweile zum Bestandteil der täglichen Routine geworden. Soziale Medien machen es einfacher, mit vielen Menschen in Verbindung zu bleiben bzw. das eigene Netzwerk zu erweitern. Dabei mischen sich auch früher getrennte soziale Kontexte. Auf Twitter ist es zudem durchaus gebräuchlich, Fremden zu folgen. Gleichzeitig fordern soziale Medien auch explizit dazu auf, Inhalte zu teilen und zu kommentieren, auch über (Organisations-)Grenzen hinweg. Soziale Medien verändern dadurch, wie und mit wem Menschen Wissen teilen. Die Nachwuchsgruppe Soziale Medien interessiert sich vor allem dafür, wie soziale Medien den beruflichen Wissensaustausch verändern.


Für den beruflichen Wissensaustausch spielt neben der kognitiven Komponente – Wissen, wer was weiß – auch die emotionale Komponente, nämlich das Vertrauen in den Interaktionspartner, eine wichtige Rolle. Diese kognitiven und emotionalen Prozesse untersucht die Nachwuchsgruppe oft im beruflichen Kontext, z.B. auf Business-Netzwerken wie Xing oder LinkedIn, aber auch in Online-Experimenten. Daneben erforscht die Nachwuchsgruppe, wie Visualisierungen Menschen helfen können, komplexe Datenmengen zu verarbeiten und bessere Entscheidungen zu treffen. Diese Forschungsergebnisse sind für das Praxisfeld Wissensarbeit mit digitalen Medien relevant.


Viele Menschen sind mittlerweile permanent über Smartphones und andere digitale Medien mit ihrem Netzwerk verbunden. Die Nachwuchsgruppe untersucht auch, wie die dadurch veränderten Kommunikationsmuster (z.B. viele kurze, eher oberflächliche Nachrichten statt längerer intimer Gespräche) soziale Beziehungen und Emotionen beeinflussen.

Team Soziale Medien

Projekte

Dr. Tide: Digital Research Tailored Information Detector

Organisationen müssen ihre internen Daten auswerten und überblicken. Hierfür greifen immer mehr Organisationen auf Visualisierungstools zurück, mit denen sich Grafiken und Tabellen erstellen lassen. Bei der Gestaltung von Visualisierungen existieren jedoch einige Schwierigkeiten: Wie sollten komplexe Daten visualisiert werden, um bei der Entscheidungsfindung nützlich zu sein? Wie lässt sich eine Überforderung der Nutzenden verhindern? Wie flexibel bzw. interaktiv sollten sich Visualisierungsformate nachträglich variieren lassen?

Redefining tie strength – Wie soziale Medien uns helfen (können), nicht-redundante Informationen und emotionale Unterstützung zu bekommen

Soziale Medien helfen uns, mit vielen Menschen in Verbindung zu bleiben – ganz egal, ob es enge Freunde (sogenannte starke Bindungen), Bekannte (schwache Bindungen) oder Menschen, die wir kaum kennen, sind. Die Forschung zu sozialem Kapital zeigt, dass uns starke Bindungen emotionale Unterstützung geben, während schwache Bindungen uns neue Informationen liefern. Verändern soziale Medien wie und von wem wir Informationen und emotionale Unterstützung erhalten?

Vom Überwinden kognitiver und motivationaler Hürden für das Netzwerken: Kontaktempfehlungssysteme in beruflichen sozialen Netzwerken

Das Projekt befasst sich mit der Frage, welche Faktoren sich positiv oder auch negativ auf berufliches Networking-Verhalten auswirken und wie diese gefördert beziehungsweise umgangen werden können. Neben der Erforschung der Einflussfaktoren soll ein Algorithmus für Empfehlungssysteme in beruflichen sozialen Online-Netzwerken entstehen, der einerseits die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse berücksichtigt, andererseits bisherige Empfehlungssysteme verbessert. So soll Nutzerinnen und Nutzern dieser Plattformen das Netzwerken und somit die Wissensarbeit erleichtert werden.

Abschlussarbeiten

Soziale Medien und Konsumtenverhalten

Soziale Netzwerke wie Facebook sind für viele Menschen Bestandteil des Alltags geworden. Auch Unternehmen haben die Bedeutung sozialer Netzwerke erkannt und bieten z.B. Fanpages, um mit (potentiellen) Kunden zu interagieren. Die Facebooknutzung kann auf direktem oder indirektem Wege das Konsumentenverhalten beeinflussen. Zum einen sind Nutzer direkt Anzeigen oder Marken-Fanpages ausgesetzt. Zum anderen sind auch indirekte Effekte denkbar. Die Facebooknutzung kann Emotionen wecken, die wiederum das Kaufverhalten beeinflussen könnten. Führt z.B. die Konfrontation mit attraktiven Fotos und positiven Posts zu Neid, der dann wiederum das Konsumentenverhalten beeinflusst?

Ihre Ansprechpartnerin ist: Frau Prof. Dr. Sonja Utz