mobile icon
Project

Fear of Missing Out in Democratized Capital Markets: Potential Risks for Cryptocurrency- and NFT-Investors

WorkgroupEveryday Media
Duration04/2022-open
FundingIWM budget resources
Project description

There has been an increase in investments in technology-based financial products (e.g., cryptocurrencies). Professional and private investors now have easy access to these decentralized financial technologies via their smartphones. This project explores how social media information affects the investment behavior of non-professional investors driven by the so-called Fear of Missing Out (FOMO). Additionally, this project examines how to protect investors from substantial financial risks.

FOMO is defined as the anxiety of potentially missing rewarding opportunities and experiences resulting from social information concerning risky decisions under uncertainty. So far, research has investigated FOMO in experiential activities with peers. Because of increasing amounts of information and easier access to risky financial products, such as cryptocurrencies and Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs), the FOMO phenomenon has become more and more prevalent in other contexts. For example, as a potential driver of investment decisions of non-professional investors. These investors gain easy access to volatile and high-risk asset classes of the capital markets because of current developments in digitalization.

Based on sociolinguistic longitudinal data, this project explores how digital and social media patterns may indicate potential triggers of FOMO in cryptocurrency and NFT trading. Further, this project investigates the relationships between these FOMO triggers, digital discourse, information dissemination, and the capital markets. Last, effective coping strategies to protect non-professional investors will be examined.

Cooperations
  • Dr. Baris Pascal Güntürkün, Department of Marketing, Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria

  • Dr. Douglas A. Parry, Department of Information Science, Stellenbosch University, South Africa

contact

Dr. Dominik Neumann Dr. Dominik Neumann
Tel.: +49 7071 979-306

mobile icon
Projekt

Fear of Missing Out in Demokratisierten Kapitalmärkten: Potentielle Risiken für Kryptowährungs- und NFT-Investoren

ArbeitsgruppeAlltagsmedien
Laufzeit04/2022-offen
FörderungHausmittel IWM
Projektbeschreibung

In den letzten Jahren haben technologie-basierte Finanzprodukte (z.B. Kryptowährungen) Einzug in die Kapitalportfolios von professionellen Anlageberatern und, über das Smartphone, auch in die von privaten Kleinanlegern gehalten. In diesem Projekt wird untersucht, wie sich Informationen in Sozialen Medien durch die sogenannte Fear of Missing Out (FOMO) auf das Investmentverhalten von privaten Kleinanlegern auswirken und mit welchen Maßnahmen man diese Investoren vor finanziellem Risiko schützen kann.

FOMO, oder die Angst was zu verpassen, ist das Resultat aus (sozialen) Informationen die als Grundlage für risikobehaftete Entscheidungen dienen. Bisher wurde das Phänomen vor allem im Kontext von Freizeitaktivitäten mit sozialen Kontakten untersucht. Durch die zunehmende Menge an Informationen über und den vereinfachten Zugang zu risikobehafteten Finanzprodukten wie Kryptowährungen und Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs), rückt das Phänomen aber mehr und mehr in den Fokus der Forschung in anderen Kontexten. Zum Beispiel, als potentieller Treiber für Investmententscheidungen privater Kleinanleger. Diese Amateur-Investoren erlangen mit fortschreitender Digitalisierung der Kapitalmärkte vereinfachten Zugang zu diesen risikoreichen Investmentklassen.

In diesem Projekt sollen soziolinguistische Längsschnittdaten genutzt werden, um potentielle FOMO-Auslöser in dem Kontext Kryptowährung- und NFT-Investment zu identifizieren. Weiterhin soll untersucht werden, in welchem Zusammenhang diese FOMO-Auslöser sowohl mit den weiteren Diskussionen in Sozialen Medien als auch mit dem Kapitalmarkt stehen. Zuletzt soll erforscht werden, welche Mechanismen für private Kleinanleger effektive Methoden darstellen, um sich vor möglichen finanziell risikoreichen Investments zu schützen.

Kooperationen
  • Dr. Baris Pascal Güntürkün, Department für Marketing, Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, Österreich

  • Dr. Douglas A. Parry, Department of Information Science, Stellenbosch University, Südafrika

Kontakt

Dr. Dominik Neumann Dr. Dominik Neumann
Tel.: +49 7071 979-306