mobile icon
Project

ALICE: Analyzing Learning for Individual Competence development in mathematics and science Education

WorkgroupKnowledge Construction Lab
Duration05/2021-03/2024
FundingLeibniz-Competition
Project description

The coronavirus crisis has once again demonstrated the importance of supporting learning in schools through digital technologies. Far beyond the use of digital platforms to distribute assignments to students, digital technologies enable the tracking of individual student learning and the provision of targeted support tailored to individual needs. This research project investigates the extent to which data derived from student interactions with digital technologies in mathematics and science classrooms can be used to 1) continuously evaluate individual student learning, 2) reconstruct learning pathways across sequences of learning activities, and 3) identify those pathways associated with the development of competencies in mathematics and science.


Greater individualization of learning is necessary to help all students develop the competencies needed for career, social, and cultural participation-particularly in such critical areas as mathematics and science. However, individualized learning, also known as personalized and adaptive learning, requires the continuous assessment of students' learning, the reconstruction of their learning trajectories, and the extrapolation of those trajectories in terms of their skill development. This requires a theory of learning, and based on it, a model of competence development and methods that allow for continuous assessment of learning across a range of learning activities and subsequent mapping to learners' competence development.

As digital technologies become increasingly ubiquitous in math and science classrooms, they lend themselves to the development of such a methodology. As students work with digital technologies, their interactions with these technologies can be recorded and automatically analyzed. Automated analysis of these interactions enables timely assessment of performance.

Cooperations
  • Prof. Dr. Knut Neumann (IPN Kiel)

  • Prof. Dr. Hendrik Drachsler (DIPF Frankfurt)

  • Prof. Dr. Nikol Rummel (Ruhr-University Bochum)

contact

PD Dr. Peter Holtz PD Dr. Peter Holtz
Tel.: +49 7071 979-303

Project team

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Cress

mobile icon
Projekt

ALICE: Analyzing Learning for Individual Competence development in mathematics and science Education

ArbeitsgruppeWissenskonstruktion
Laufzeit05/2021-03/2024
FörderungLeibniz-Wettbewerb
Projektbeschreibung

Die Coronavirus-Krise hat noch einmal gezeigt wie wichtig es ist, Lernen in Schulen durch digitale Technologien zu unterstützen. Weit über die Nutzung digitaler Plattformen für die Verteilung von Aufgaben an die Schüler*innen hinaus, ermöglichen digitale Technologien die Verfolgung des Lernprozesses einzelner Schüler*innen sowie die Bereitstellung gezielter Unterstützung, die auf die jeweiligen individuellen Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten ist. Dieses Forschungsprojekt untersucht, inwieweit Daten, die aus der Interaktion von Schüler*innen mit digitalen Technologien im mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Unterricht stammen, genutzt werden können, um 1) das Lernen einzelner Schüler*innen kontinuierlich zu evaluieren, 2) Lernpfade über Sequenzen von Lernaktivitäten zu rekonstruieren und 3) diejenigen Pfade zu identifizieren, die mit der Entwicklung von Kompetenzen in Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften einhergehen.


Eine stärkere Individualisierung des Lernens ist notwendig, um alle Schüler*innen bei der Entwicklung der für die berufliche, gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Teilhabe erforderlichen Kompetenzen zu unterstützen - insbesondere in so kritischen Bereichen wie Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften. Individualisiertes Lernen, auch bekannt als personalisiertes und adaptives Lernen, erfordert jedoch die kontinuierliche Bewertung des Lernens der Schüler*innen, die Rekonstruktion ihrer Lerntrajektorien sowie die Extrapolation dieser Trajektorien im Hinblick auf ihre Kompetenzentwicklung. Dies erfordert eine Theorie des Lernens, und darauf aufbauend, ein Modell der Kompetenzentwicklung und Methoden, die eine kontinuierliche Bewertung des Lernens über eine Reihe von Lernaktivitäten und eine anschließende Zuordnung zur Kompetenzentwicklung der Lernenden ermöglichen.


Da digitale Technologien im mathematisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Unterricht zunehmend allgegenwärtig sind, bieten sie sich für die Entwicklung einer solchen Methodik geradezu an. Während die Schüler*innen mit digitalen Technologien arbeiten, können ihre Interaktionen mit diesen Technologien aufgezeichnet und automatisch analysiert werden. Die automatisierte Analyse dieser Interaktionen ermöglicht eine zeitnahe Bewertung der Leistungen.

Kooperationen
  • Prof. Dr. Knut Neumann (IPN Kiel)

  • Prof. Dr. Hendrik Drachsler (DIPF Frankfurt)

  • Prof. Dr. Nikol Rummel (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)

projektkontakt

PD Dr. Peter Holtz PD Dr. Peter Holtz
Tel.: +49 7071 979-303