mobile icon
Project

Digital Media in the Everyday Life of Children and Adolescents

Junior research groupSocial Media
Duration01/2018 - 12/2020
FundingIWM budget resources
Project description

Today, children and adolescents experience a mediatization of their everyday life and grow up with a multitude of digital media. They live in households, of which almost all have mobile phones/smartphones, computers and Internet access. The project investigates how the enormous presence of digital media in the everyday lives of children and adolescents influences their psychosocial development and what role the surrounding social contexts play.


Digital media offer adolescents a variety of usage options for coping with important developmental tasks. For example, the constant exchange of personal and intimate information enables and strengthens peer relationships. In addition, the diverse online contents provide creative and experimental possibilities for the construction of youngsters’ identities. Conversely, intensive and permanent communication via digital media can also involve certain risks. In addition to a high perceived communication pressure, the possibility of permanent and anonymous interaction with friends and strangers also can foster certain social risks, such as cyberbullying or sexual victimization.
Parents in particular face the difficult task of enabling their children to participate in a digital society and to exploit the associated potential, while at the same time protecting them from risks and harmful experiences on the Internet. Parents influence the use and development of children through their media education activities. However, they are also important role models when it comes to their own usage behavior.  
In various substudies, the project examined positive and negative effects of digital media use on children’s and adolescents’ psychosocial development. In this context, different protective and harmful influencing factors were considered: On the individual level, the main focus was on digital media literacy, while, on the social level, peer and family influences were investigated."

Cooperations
 
  • Prof. Dr. Vivian Chen, Nanyang Technological University (Singapore)
  • Dr. Alexandra Langmeyer-Tornier, Deutsches Jugendinstitut
  • Prof. Dr. Thorsten Quandt, Universität Münster
  • Dr. Felix Reer, Universität Münster
Publications

Festl, R. (2021). Social media literacy & adolescent social online behavior in Germany. Journal of Children and Media, 15(2), 249-271. https://dx.doi.org/10.1080/17482798.2020.1770110 request document
 

Festl, R. (2021). Soziale Medienkompetenz von Jugendlichen - Zur Rolle von Wissen, Motivation und Fähigkeiten für ein sozial kompetentes Handeln online. Psychologie in Erziehung und Unterricht, 68, 58-73. https://dx.doi.org/10.2378/peu2021
 

Festl, R., & Gniewosz, G. (2019). Role of mothers’ and fathers’ Internet parenting for family climate. Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, 36(6), 1764-1784. https://dx.doi.org/10.1177/0265407518771753
 

Festl, R., Reer, F., & Quandt, T. (2019). Online sexual engagement and psychosocial well-being: The mediating role of sexual victimization experiences. Computers in Human Behavior, 98, 102-110. https://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2019.04.010
 

Festl, R., & Langmeyer, A. N. (2018). Die Bedeutung der elterlichen Interneterziehung für die Internetnutzung von Vor-, Grund- und Sekundarschulkindern. Praxis der Kinderpsychologie und Kinderpsychiatrie, 67(2), 154-180. https://dx.doi.org/10.13109/prkk.2018.67.2.154
 

contact

Dr. Ruth Wendt Dr. Ruth Wendt
Tel.: +49 7071 979-0

mobile icon
Projekt

Digitale Medien im Alltag von Kindern und Jugendlichen

NachwuchsgruppeSoziale Medien
Laufzeit01/2018-12/2020
FörderungIWM-Haushaltsmittel
Projektbeschreibung

Kinder und Jugendliche erleben heutzutage eine Mediatisierung ihres Alltags und wachsen mit einer Vielzahl digitaler Medien auf. Sie leben in Haushalten, die nahezu alle über Handys/Smartphones, Computer und einen Internetzugang verfügen. Im Projekt wird untersucht, wie die enorme Präsenz von digitalen Medien im Alltag von Kindern und Jugendlichen ihre psychosoziale Entwicklung beeinflusst und welche Rolle dabei die sie umgebenden sozialen Kontexte spielen.


Digitale Medien bieten Heranwachsenden eine Vielzahl an Nutzungsoptionen zur Bewältigung wichtiger Entwicklungsaufgaben. Beispielsweise ermöglicht und festigt der ständige Austausch von persönlichen und intimen Informationen den Aufbau von Peer-Beziehungen. Zudem stellen die vielfältigen Online-Inhalte kreative und experimentelle Nutzungsmöglichkeiten zur Identitätskonstruktion von Jugendlichen bereit. Umgekehrt kann ein intensives und permanentes Kommunizieren über digitale Medien auch bestimmte Risiken bergen. Neben einem hohen wahrgenommenen Kommunikationsdruck birgt die Möglichkeit zur permanenten und anonymen Interaktion mit Freunden und Fremden auch bestimmte soziale Risiken, wie Cybermobbing oder sexuelle Viktimisierung.
Insbesondere Eltern sehen sich mit der schwierigen Aufgabe konfrontiert, ihren Kindern die umfassende Teilhabe an einer digitalen Gesellschaft zu ermöglichen, sie zur Ausschöpfung der damit einhergehenden Potenziale zu befähigen, aber sie gleichzeitig auch vor den Risiken und schädlichen Erfahrungen im Netz zu bewahren. Eltern beeinflussen die kindliche Nutzung und Entwicklung nicht nur über ihre Medienerziehung, sondern sind auch wichtige Rollenvorbilder hinsichtlich ihrer eigenen Nutzung.  
Im Rahmen des Projekts werden in unterschiedlichen Teilstudien positive und negative Effekte der Nutzung digitaler Medien durch Heranwachsende für ihre psychosoziale Entwicklung betrachtet. Speziell werden dabei verschiedene protektive und schädliche Einflussfaktoren in den Blick genommen: Auf individueller Ebene wird insbesondere die Rolle von digitaler Medienkompetenz untersucht, während auf sozialer Ebene speziell Einflüsse von Peers und der Familie fokussiert werden.

Kooperationen
  • Prof. Dr. Vivian Chen, Nanyang Technological University (Singapur)
  • Dr. Alexandra Langmeyer-Tornier, Deutsches Jugendinstitut
  • Prof. Dr. Thorsten Quandt, Universität Münster
  • Dr. Felix Reer, Universität Münster
Publikationen

Festl, R., & Gniewosz, G. (2019). Role of mothers’ and fathers’ Internet parenting for family climate. Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, 36(6), 1764-1784. https://dx.doi.org/10.1177/0265407518771753

Festl, R., Reer, F., & Quandt, T. (2019). Online sexual engagement and psychosocial well-being: The mediating role of sexual victimization experiences. Computers in Human Behavior, 98, 102-110. https://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2019.04.010

Festl, R., & Langmeyer, A. N. (2018). Die Bedeutung der elterlichen Interneterziehung für die Internetnutzung von Vor-, Grund- und Sekundarschulkindern. Praxis der Kinderpsychologie und Kinderpsychiatrie, 67(2), 154-180. https://dx.doi.org/10.13109/prkk.2018.67.2.154

Kontakt

Dr. Ruth Festl Dr. Ruth Festl
Tel.: +49 7071 979-329