mobile icon
Project

Digits grasp digits – Development and evaluation of a digital app for self-regulated training of finger-based numerical strategies

Junior Research Group Neuro-cognitive plasticity
Duration
07/2017-06/2020
Funding
Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus „Cognitive Interfaces”
Project description

Almost all children use their fingers for counting and initial calculation. Fingers may be considered an embodied cognitive interface for numbers. In this project, we will develop and evaluate a game-like app for finger-based training on touch-sensitive tablets for kindergartners.


As a cognitive interface, the app will assist children through the initial stages of their numerical development such as i) understanding counting principles (e.g., by realizing that each number word spoken corresponds to one raised finger), ii) becoming aware of the quantitative meaning conveyed by a number (e.g., reflected by the number of fingers raised) and iii) performing initial calculations by understanding that numbers, just like fingers, can be separated or grouped into smaller or larger sets. Although evidence points to a valuable role of fingers in the acquisition of counting, cardinal magnitude understanding and initial calculation, there is currently no study evaluating the influence of explicit finger-based training on numerical development empirically.


Therefore, we will pursue this question based on a recent theoretical model suggesting how finger-based numerical strategies may corroborate numerical development in a two-stage procedure: In phase 1, we will develop and implement the finger-based numerical training app for tablets considering theoretical and empirical evidence. As motivation plays a critical role in learning processes, we plan to make the app as appealing as possible for children by considering state-of-the-art recommendations on game elements such as narrative, visual aesthetics and incentives to promote learning effectively. In phase 2, the efficiency of the app will be evaluated in an intervention study with kindergartners aged 4 to 6. It is expected that the trained use of finger-based numerical strategies should corroborate the acquisition of counting, cardinal, and calculation abilities significantly when children are trained at their individual level of numerical skills. After positive evaluation, the app will be made available for free download.

Cooperations

Prof. Dr. Caterina Gawrilow, School Psychology, Tübingen University

Prof. Dr. Dorothee Kimmich, German Seminar, Tübingen University

Prof. Dr. Silke Ladel, Mathematics Education, Saarland University

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Projekt

Finger begreifen Zahlen – Entwicklung und Evaluation einer digitalen App für selbstreguliertes Training fingerbasierter numerischer Strategien

Nachwuchsgruppe
Neuro-kognitive Plastizität
Laufzeit
07/2017-06/2020
Förderung
Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus „Cognitive Interfaces”
Projektbeschreibung

Fast alle Kinder nutzen ihre Finger zum Zählen und Rechnen. Finger können als eine verkörperlichte (engl. embodied) Repräsentation von Zahlen angesehen werden. In diesem Projekt untersuchen wir die Frage, ob und wie frühe numerische Fähigkeiten im Kindergarten durch das gezielte Training finger-basierter Strategien mittels einer App auf touch-sensitiven Tablets gefördert werden können.


Als eine kognitive Schnittstelle werden die Kinder von der App durch die ersten Stufen ihrer numerischen Entwicklung unterstützt, insbesondere in Bezug auf i) ihr Verständnis der Zählprinzipien (weil jedes Zahlwort einem erhobenen Finger entspricht), ii) ihrem Verständnis für Zahlengröße (weil diese der Anzahl erhobener Finger entspricht) und iii) ihren ersten Rechenoperationen (weil Zahlen genauso wie Finger, in kleinere oder größere Mengen zerlegt oder gruppiert werden können). Obwohl die Forschung zeigt, dass die Finger eine wertvolle Rolle für den Erwerb des Zählens, des Verständnisses kardinaler Mengen und des initialen Rechnens spielt, gibt es jedoch noch keine Studien, die den Einfluss eines finger-basierten Trainings auf die frühe numerische Entwicklung im Kindergarten empirisch untersucht haben.


Daher erforscht das Projekt diese Frage ausgehend von einer Theorie über die Rolle fingerbasierter numerischer Strategien für die frühe numerische Entwicklung in zwei Phasen: In einer ersten Projektphase wird die spiel-basierte App unter Berücksichtigung theoretischer und empirischer Evidenz entwickelt und umgesetzt. Da die Motivation eine kritische Rolle für Lernprozesse spielt, wird die App so attraktiv wie möglich nach modernsten Empfehlungen für den Einbau von Spielelementen (z.B. Narrativ, visuelle Ästhetik und Feedback) gestaltet. In der zweiten Projektphase wird die Effektivität der App in einer groß angelegten Interventionsstudie im Kindergarten an Kindern im Altern von 4 bis 6 Jahren überprüft. Erwartet wird, dass Kinder durch das Training fingerbasierter Strategien spezifisch in ihrem individuellen Leistungsbereich unterstützt werden können. Nach der erfolgreichen Evaluation wird die App zum kostenlosen Download erhältlich sein.

Kooperationen

Prof. Dr. Caterina Gawrilow, Schulpsychologie, Eberhard-Karls Universität Tübingen

Prof. Dr. Dorothee Kimmich, Deutsches Seminar, Eberhard-Karls Universität Tübingen

Prof. Dr. Silke Ladel, Fachrichtung Mathematik, Universität des Saarlandes