• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
Project

Determinants and Consequences of Decisional Conflict

LabSocial processes Lab
Duration08/2016–06/2019
FundingIWM (SAW)
Project description

People often experience decisional conflicts in their everyday life. In the canteen, for example, a person may experience a conflict between the goal to eat healthily (‘take the salad!’) and the goal to eat something tasty (‘take the pasta!’). The present project studies such decisional (goal) conflicts from different perspectives. First, the project focuses on the circumstances under which people are more vs. less likely to experience decisional conflicts (determinants). Second, our studies investigate the consequences of experiencing decisional conflict on affect/emotions, cognition, and behavior.


Regarding determinants of decisional conflict, the project currently investigates whether having been exposed to conflict before helps people to deal with future conflicts. More specifically, we study whether being in a ‘conflict mindset’ can help alleviate the intensity of future conflict so that people are better able to solve it.


Regarding consequences of decisional conflict, this project builds on previous work showing that the experience of decisional conflict can have a negative effect on how people feel about their choice. This has so far only been shown for self-control conflicts in the eating domain, and we are currently testing whether this is also the case for other types of self-control conflicts. Moreover, the project also studies situations (e.g., feedback) in which experiencing conflict can have positive effects on people’s affective and emotional reactions.


In doing so, this project tries to combine theory and methods from cognitive as well as social psychology. Moreover, it relates to basic questions (e.g., how does conflict influence information processing), as well as to contemporary phenomena (e.g., choice overload; filter bubbles).

contact

Dr. Daniela Becker Dr. Daniela Becker
Tel.: +49 7071 979-231

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Projekt

Determinanten und Konsequenzen von Entscheidungskonflikten

ArbeitsgruppeSoziale Prozesse
Laufzeit08/2016–06/2019
FörderungIWM (SAW)
Projektbeschreibung

Entscheidungskonflikte kommen häufig im täglichen Leben vor. In der Kantine erfährt man zum Beispiel vielleicht einen Konflikt zwischen dem Ziel, sich gesünder ernähren zu wollen („Nimm den Salat“) und dem Ziel, einfach etwas Leckeres zu essen („Nimm die Nudeln“). In diesem Projekt werden solche Entscheidungs- oder Zielkonflikte von verschiedenen Perspektiven beleuchtet. Einerseits werden die Umstände betrachtet, unter denen man mehr oder weniger Entscheidungskonflikt erfährt (Determinanten). Andererseits wird auch untersucht, welche Konsequenzen das Erleben von Entscheidungskonflikt auf das Erleben (Affekt und Emotionen), auf unser Denken (Kognition) und das Verhalten hat.


Bezüglich der Determinanten von Entscheidungskonflikten betrachten die aktuellen Studien der Arbeitsgruppe, ob man Entscheidungskonflikte besser lösen kann, wenn man davor schon einen ähnlichen Konflikt erlebt hat. Im Spezifischen wird getestet, ob ein „conflict mindset“ hilft, nachfolgende Konflikte abzuschwächen und damit deren Lösung vereinfacht.


Bezüglich der Konsequenzen von Entscheidungskonflikten wird eine frühere Forschungslinie vertieft. Hier zeigte sich, dass man sich bezüglich der eigenen getroffenen Wahl umso schlechter fühlt, je schwerer zuvor der Entscheidungskonflikt erlebt wurde. Da dies bisher nur für Konflikte im Essbereich gezeigt wurde, untersuchen aktuelle Studien, ob sich dies auch auf andere Entscheidungskonflikte übertragen lässt. Außerdem wird betrachtet, unter welchen Umständen Konflikte affektive bzw. emotionale Reaktionen auch positiv beeinflussen können.


In diesem Projekt werden Theorien und Methoden von Kognitiver und Sozialpsychologie verknüpft, um sowohl grundlagenrelevante Fragen zu beantworten (z.B. wie wirkt sich Konflikt auf Informationsverarbeitung aus?), als auch angewandte Probleme und Phänomene zu verstehen (z.B. choice overload, filter bubbles).