mobile icon
Project

Facts and Figures: Neurofunctional Structures and cognitive processes of number processing and arithmetic fact retrieval

WorkgroupJunior Research Group Neuro-cognitive Plasticity
Duration11/2018-12/2021
FundingDeutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Project description

What can we learn from brain damages about numerical processes in the unaffected brain? This is the central issue of this project.


Based on the triple-code model (Dehaene, 1992; Dehaene & Cohen 1995, 1997), two basic processes are differentiated in numerical cognition – the processing of numerical magnitude information on the one hand and arithmetic fact retrieval on the other. How distinct these processes actually are, and which neuro-cognitive evidence supports this distinction, is still controversially discussed.


In order to advance this discourse, static and dynamic aspects (neuro-cognitive plasticity) of numerical magnitude processing and arithmetic fact retrieval will be assessed in stroke patients and healthy controls via parallelized cross-sectional and longitudinal experimental (training-) studies. The functional-anatomical foundations of both processes are investigated by means of multivariate lesion analysis and diffusion tensor imaging (DTI).


Multivariate lesion analysis allows for differential causal structure-function mapping of functional deficits in numerical (sub)processes and lesioned parts of the postulated networks underlying numerical cognition. Furthermore, potential re-organization processes within and between the neural networks of numerical magnitude and arithmetic fact retrieval can be investigated as well (i.e., whether certain cognitive (sub)processes can be taken over by other neuro-anatomical regions to compensate for functional deficits). By means of DTI possible fiber disconnections can be identified and analyzed, which might impair functionally unimpaired brain regions.


The parallelized experimental design enables us to address identical questions regarding magnitude processing and arithmetic fact retrieval in stroke patients and healthy controls. On this occasion, analyzing different patient groups by means of multivariate lesion analysis and DTI allow to identify causal relationships of cognitive processing and the underlying neural correlates. At the same time, the influence of pathological interferences can be excluded by examining healthy controls in parallelized experiments. Spatial-numerical associations are examined as an indicator for the processing of numerical magnitude.


In sum, the results gained from the current project would extend our understanding of (un)impaired number processing, permit prognostic statements and allow for implications for diagnosis and interventions of numerical impairments.

Cooperations
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Hans-Otto Karnath, Universitätsklinikum Tübingen

contact

Dr. Dr. Elise Klein Dr. Dr. Elise Klein
Tel.: +49 7071 979-205

mobile icon
Projekt

Facts and Figures: Neurofunktionelle Strukturen und kognitive Prozesse numerischer Größenverarbeitung und arithmetischen Faktenabrufs

Zuordnung
Projekt der ehemaligen Nachwuchsgruppe Neuro-kognitive Plastizität
Laufzeit11/2018-12/2021
FörderungDeutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Projektbeschreibung

Was können uns Schädigungen des Gehirns über Rechenprozesse im ungeschädigten Gehirn verraten? Das ist das zentrale Thema dieses Projekts.


In der numerischen Kognitionsforschung werden, basierend auf den modelltheoretischen Annahmen des Triple-Code-Modells (Dehaene, 1992; Dehaene & Cohen 1995, 1997), zwei grundlegende Prozesse unterschieden – nämlich die Verarbeitung numerischer Größe auf der einen und der Abruf arithmetischer Fakten auf der anderen Seite. Wie distinkt diese prozessuale Differenzierung tatsächlich ist und inwieweit sich diese auch neurokognitiv zeigt, wird noch immer kontrovers diskutiert.


Um diesen Diskurs voranzubringen, werden in parallelisierten quer- und längsschnittlichen experimentellen (Trainings-)Studien an Schlaganfallpatientinnen und -patienten sowie an gesunden Probandinnen und Probanden statische und dynamische Aspekte (neuro-kognitive Plastizität) der an Größenverarbeitung und Faktenabruf beteiligten kognitiven Prozesse überprüft. Wie diese Fähigkeiten mit funktionell-anatomischen Strukturen assoziiert sind, wird mittels multivariater Läsionsanalyse sowie Diffusions-Tensor-Bildgebung (DTI) erfasst. Mithilfe multivariater Läsionsanalyse lässt sich zeigen, wie sich eine Schädigung in den postulierten Netzwerken der Zahlenverarbeitung auf einzelne Teilprozesse auswirkt. Mittels DTI können mögliche Unterbrechungen der Nervenfaserverbindungen dargestellt und analysiert werden, die strukturell intakt erscheinende Hirnregionen in ihrer Funktion beeinträchtigen können.


Die parallelisierten Experimente ermöglichen das Adressieren der gleichen zentralen Fragestellungen bzgl. der Verarbeitung von numerischer Größe und arithmetischen Fakten bei Patientinnen und Patienten sowie bei gesunden Probandinnen und Probanden. Hierbei erlauben die Untersuchungen verschiedener Patientengruppen mittels Läsionsanalysen und DTI Aussagen über Ursache-Wirkungs-Zusammenhänge von neuronalen Strukturen und kognitiven Prozessen. Durch die analog gestalteten Experimente an gesunden Probandinnen und Probanden kann zudem der Einfluss pathologischer Beeinträchtigungen ausgeschlossen werden. Als Indikator für die Verarbeitung numerischer Größe werden in diesem Projekt insbesondere räumlich-numerische Assoziationen untersucht.


Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse können das Wissen um (un-)beeinträchtigte Zahlenverarbeitungsprozesse erweitern, erlauben prognostische Aussagen bei einer Beeinträchtigung und haben Implikationen für die Diagnostik und Therapie numerischer Störungen.

Kooperationen
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Hans-Otto Karnath, Universitätsklinikum Tübingen

Publikationen

Jung, S., Moeller, K., Karnath, H.O., Klein, E. (2020). Hemispheric lateralization of arithmetic facts and magnitude processing for two-digit numbers. Frontiers in Human Neuroscience, 14, Article 88. https://dx.doi.org/10.3389/fnhum.2020.00088 [Data] Open Access
 

Jung, S., Roesch, S., Klein, E., Dackermann, T., Heller, J., & Moeller, K. (2020). The strategy matters: Bounded and unbounded number line estimation in secondary school children. Cognitive Development, 53, Article 100839. https://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.cogdev.2019.100839
 

Kontakt

Dr. Stefanie Jung Dr. Stefanie Jung
Tel.: +49 7071 979-370

Projektteam

Dr. Dr. Elise Klein