mobile icon
Project

Reception of the scientific and public discourse on nanosafety on the Internet

LabMultimodal interaction
Duration11/2016–12/2020
FundingLeibniz Association, IWM budget resources
Project description

Nanotechnology is considered one of the key technologies of the 21st century. A general statement on the effect of nanomaterials on people and the environment however is not yet possible. As part of the Leibniz Research Alliance „Nanosafety“, this project focuses on how laypersons and experts deal with conflicting scientific information on this topic and how they make decisions based on this information. We look at this research question with special regard to the internet as a source of knowledge.


Especially on the internet there is much (partially conflicting) information on the topic of nanosafety with different sources and varying quality. Using controlled as well as actual information environments, we are researching the handling of such fragile information by laypersons to see which strategies they use to resolve or explain possible contradictions. In another step we want to research how these strategies differ from strategies used by domain experts. To look into these processes we use methods such as eye-tracking and log file analysis.


The project is part of the Leibniz Research Alliance “Nanosafety”, in which the IWM and seven other Leibniz institutes from the fields of environmental medicine, occupational health and safety, life sciences and data management are involved.


Cooperations

Leibniz Institute for New Materials


Website

http://www.leibniz-nanosicherheit.de/en/

Publications
  • Gottschling, S., Kammerer, Y., & Gerjets, P. (2019). Readers’ Processing and Use of Source Information as a Function of Its Usefulness to Explain Conflicting Scientific Claims. Discourse Processes, 56(5-6), 429-446. https://dx.doi.org/10.1080/0163853x.2019.1610305

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Projekt

Rezeption des wissenschaftlichen und öffentlichen Diskurses zum Thema Nanosicherheit im Internet

ArbeitsgruppeMultimodale Interaktion
Laufzeit11/2016–10/2019
FörderungLeibniz-Gemeinschaft, IWM-Haushaltsmittel
Projektbeschreibung

Die Nanotechnologie gilt als eine der Schlüsseltechnologien des 21. Jahrhunderts. Eine generelle Aussage über den Einfluss von Nanomaterialien auf Mensch und Umwelt ist derzeit allerdings noch nicht möglich. Im Rahmen des Leibniz-Forschungsverbunds „Nanosicherheit“ wird daher in diesem Projekt untersucht, wie Laien und Experten mit den konfligierenden wissenschaftlichen Informationen zu dieser Thematik umgehen und Entscheidungen auf Grundlage dieser Informationen treffen. Diese Fragestellung wird vor dem Hintergrund wissensbezogener Internetnutzung erforscht.


Gerade im Internet finden sich viele (teilweise im Konflikt stehenden) Informationen zum Thema Nanosicherheit mit unterschiedlichen Quellen und heterogener Informationsqualität. Mithilfe von kontrolliert erstellten sowie tatsächlichen Informationsumwelten soll in diesem Projekt untersucht werden, wie Laien mit einer derart unsicheren Informationslage umgehen und welche Strategien sie dabei anwenden, um mögliche Konflikte zwischen Informationen aufzulösen oder zu erklären. In einem weiteren Schritt soll untersucht werden, wie sich die Strategien von Laien von Strategien unterscheiden, welche von Domänenexperten eingesetzt werden. Dafür werden unter anderem Methoden wie Eye-Tracking und Logfile-Analyse verwendet.


Das Projekt ist Teil des Leibniz-Forschungsverbund „Nanosicherheit“, an dem neben dem IWM fünf weitere Leibniz-Institute aus den Bereichen der Umweltmedizin, Arbeitsforschung, Biowissenschaften und Datenmanagement beteiligt sind.


Kooperationen

Leibniz-Institut für neue Materialien (INM)

Webseite

http://www.leibniz-nanosicherheit.de