• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Project

Improvement of negotiations through awareness

Working groupKnowledge Exchange Lab
Duration01/2013 - 12/2016
FundingLeibniz Association as part of the Leibniz Competition
Project description

Computer-supported negotiations can be improved by making the negotiators aware of their different priorities. The aim of this PhD project is to investigate the so called priority awareness and foster it by an adequate information design. This not only has practical relevance for negotiations in a professional setting, but also for everyday negotiations in private life.

Negotiations rarely revolve around only one issue, the parties usually must agree on several issues. For example in the acquisition/sale of a vehicle fleet where a multinational insurance company and a big carmaker would have to agree in addition to the price, also on the number of vehicles, their type and the amenities. Such variety of issues offers the possibility of an integrative negotiation: By giving concessions on less important issues you can in exchange demand concessions on more important issues. Thereby a higher negotiation result is achieved for both parties as if each issue had been negotiated individually (distributive negotiation). However, this is only possible if the negotiating parties are aware of the relevant priorities.

A persistent fallacy is to assume that the other party would have the same priorities (fixed-sum-error). However, this is practically non-existent and stands in the way of an integrative negotiation and a worth optimizing negotiation outcome. This PhD project aims to foster the awareness of the negotiators about their different priorities (priority awareness) and thereby improve objective and subjective measures of negotiation performance.

By using a negotiation support system it is investigated in numerous experimental negotiations about a vehicle fleet, how such information about priorities can be visually presented in such a way that automatic fallacies can be bypassed and negotiation outcomes improved. There are no special experiences required from the negotiating parties; there are no further instructions or training given to them.

First results show that a complex visualization impairs subjective negotiation outcomes (satisfaction, fairness, honesty) whereas simple bar charts that were created with a common spreadsheet program do not have this negative impact and improve objective measures negotiation outcome (individual/joint outcome, pareto efficiency).

Cooperations

PD Dr. Tanja Engelmann, Praxis für Hochbegabung und Hochleistungspotenzial in Stuttgart

Publications

Kolodziej, R., Hesse, F. W., & Engelmann, T. (2016). Improving Negotiations with Bar Charts: The Advantages of Priority Awareness. Computers in Human Behavior, 60, 351–360.

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Projekt

Verbesserung von Verhandlungen durch Awareness

ArbeitsgruppeWissensaustausch
Laufzeit01/2013 - 12/2016
FörderungLeibniz-Gemeinschaft im Rahmen des Leibniz-Wettbewerbs
Projektbeschreibung

Computerunterstützte Verhandlungen können durch das Bewusstmachen unterschiedlicher Prioritäten der Verhandlungspartner verbessert werden. Ziel dieses Dissertationsprojekts ist es, die sogenannte priority awareness zu untersuchen und durch ein angemessenes Informationsdesign zu fördern. Dies hat nicht nur praktische Relevanz für Verhandlungen in einem professionellen Rahmen, sondern auch für alltägliche Verhandlungen im privaten Leben.

Bei Verhandlungen dreht es sich selten nur um ein Thema, die Parteien müssen sich meist über mehrere Themen einig werden. Beispielsweise müssten sich ein multinationales Versicherungsunternehmen und ein großer Automobilhersteller beim Erwerb/bei der Veräußerung einer Fahrzeugflotte neben dem Preis, auch über die Anzahl der Fahrzeuge, deren Art sowie die Ausstattung einigen. Eine solche Vielzahl von Themen bietet die Möglichkeit einer integrativen Verhandlung: Gewährt man Zugeständnisse bei weniger wichtigen Themen kann man im Austausch Zugeständnissen bei wichtigeren Themen fordern. Dadurch wird ein höheres Verhandlungsergebnis für beide Parteien erzielt als wenn jedes Thema einzeln verhandelt worden wäre (distributive Verhandlung). Dies ist jedoch nur möglich, wenn den Verhandlungspartnern die jeweiligen Prioritäten bekannt sind.

Ein beständiger Denkfehler ist, anzunehmen, die andere Partei hätte dieselben Prioritäten (fixed-sum-error). Dies kommt jedoch praktisch nicht vor und steht einer integrativen Verhandlung und einem wertausschöpfenden Verhandlungsergebnis im Weg. In diesem Dissertationsprojekt geht es darum, das Bewusstsein der Verhandlungspartner über ihre unterschiedlichen Prioritäten (priority awareness) zu fördern und dadurch objektive und subjektive Maße der Verhandlungsleistung zu verbessern.

Durch die Nutzung eines negotiation support systems wird in zahlreichen experimentellen Verhandlungen um eine Fahrzeugflotte untersucht, wie Informationen über Prioritäten visuell so aufbereitet werden können, dass automatische Denkfehler umgangen und Verhandlungsergebnisse verbessert werden. Hierbei werden von den Verhandlungspartnern keine speziellen Erfahrungen verlangt und ihnen keine weiteren Anweisungen oder Trainings gegeben.

Erste Ergebnisse zeigen, dass ein komplexe Visualisierung subjektive Verhandlungsergebnisse verschlechtert (Zufriedenheit, Fairness, Ehrlichkeit) wohingegen einfache Balkendiagramme, die mit einem gängigen Tabellenkalkulationsprogramm erstellten wurden, diesen negativen Einfluss nicht haben und objektive Maße des Verhandlungsergebnisses verbessern (individuelles/gemeinsames Ergebnis, Pareto Effizienz).

Kooperationen

PD Dr. Tanja Engelmann, Praxis für Hochbegabung und Hochleistungspotenzial in Stuttgart

Publikationen

Kolodziej, R., Hesse, F. W., & Engelmann, T. (2016). Improving Negotiations with Bar Charts: The Advantages of Priority Awareness. Computers in Human Behavior, 60, 351–360.