• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Project

Supporting Interest and Knowledge Exchange through Mobile Devices and Interest Trails in Informal Settings

Knowledge Exchange Lab

Duration

March 2006 - December 2009

Funding

Funded by the Leibniz Association as part of the "Pact for Research and Innovation".

Description

Screenshots Museums possess a high potential for the propagation of knowledge due to the large number of visitors and their role as setting for informal learning. The realization of this potential, however, depends on interest and the resultant free-choice engagement of the visitor with the exhibition. We want to take a closer look at the role of interest in exhibitions: What makes exhibits interesting for visitors of museums for science and technology? How can interest be supported during the exhibition visit? How can we facilitate continuing engagement with the themes of the exhibits?

Screenshots To answer these questions we conduct studies regarding the support of interest and knowledge exchange through mobile devices and interest trails in informal settings. From March through June 2006 we conducted a laboratory study with the exhibition "Nanodialogue". The results were presented on conferences regarding mobile learning, pedagogical psychology and learning in museums. A second study was conducted in March and April 2007 in the Deutsches Museum, Bonn. The results were presented on conference regarding mobile learning, psychology and learning in museums. Further publications are currently in preparation.

Cooperations

  • Deutsches Museum Muenchen
  • Deutsches Museum Bonn

Publications

  • Wessel, D., Zahn, C., Hesse, F.W. (2008). Supporting Visitors’ Interest within and beyond the Museum with Mobile Media. Nordic Digital Excellence in Museums, 2008, Reykjavik, Iceland. URL: http://www.tii.se/nodem/pdfs/wessel_zahn_hesse_2008_nodem.pdf
  • Schwan, S., Zahn, C., Wessel, D., Huff, M., Herrmann, N., & Reussner, E. (2008). Lernen in Museen und Ausstellungen - die Rolle digitaler Medien. Unterrichtswissenschaft Zeitschrift für Lernforschung. Thema: Lernen im Museum, 36 (2), 117-135.
  • Wessel, D., & Mayr, E. (2007). Potentials & challenges of mobile media in museums. International Journal of Interactive Mobile Technologies, 1 (1), 32-39. URL: http://www.online-journals.org/index.php/i-jim/article/view/165/103.

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Projekt

Unterstützung von Interesse und Wissensaustausch durch mobile Geräte und Interest Trails in informellen Settings

Arbeitsgruppe Wissensaustausch

Laufzeit

März 2006 - Dezember 2009

Förderung

Wettbewerbsfonds der Leibniz- Gemeinschaft im Rahmen des "Pakts für Forschung und Innovation"

Projektbeschreibung

Screenshots Museen besitzen aufgrund ihrer hohen Besucherzahlen und ihrer Rolle als informelle Lernorte ein hohes Potenzial für die Vermittlung von Wissen. Die Realisierung dieses Potenzials ist jedoch vom Interesse und der daraus hervorgehenden freiwilligen Beschäftigung des Besuchers mit der Ausstellung abhängig. Wir wollen einen genaueren Blick auf die Rolle des Interesses in Ausstellungen werfen: Was macht Exponate interessant für Besucher von naturwissenschaftlich-technischen Museen? Wie kann Interesse während des Ausstellungsbesuches gefördert werden? Wie kann die Beschäftigung mit den Ausstellungsinhalten auch nach dem Besuch unterstützt werden?

Screenshots Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, führen wir Studien bezüglich der Unterstützung von Interesse und Wissensaustausch durch mobile Geräte und Interest Trails in informellen Settings durch. Von März bis Juni 2007 wurde eine Laborstudie mit der Ausstellung “Nanodialog” durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse wurden auf Konferenzen zum Thema mobile learning, Pädagogische Psychologie sowie Museumsveranstaltungen vorgestellt. Eine zweite Studie wurde im März und April 2008 im Deutschen Museum Bonn durchgeführt. Die Ergebnisse wurden auf Konferenzen zum Thema mobiles Lernen, Psychologie und Lernen im Museum vorgestellt. Weitere Publikationen befinden sich in Vorbereitung.

Kooperationspartner

  • Deutsches Museum München
  • Deutsches Museum Bonn

Publikationen

  • Wessel, D. Zahn, C., Hesse, F.W. (2008): Supporting Visitor's Interest within and beyond the Museum with Mobile Media. Nordic Digital Excellence in Museums, 2008, Reykjavik, Iceland. URL: http://www.tii.se/nodem/pdfs/wessel_zahn_hesse_2008_nodem.pdf
  • Schwan, S., Zahn, C., Wessel, D., Huff, M., Herrmann, N., & Reussner, E. (2008). Lernen in Museen und Ausstellungen - die Rolle digitaler Medien. Unterrichtswissenschaft Zeitschrift für Lernforschung. Thema: Lernen im Museum, 36 (2), 117-135.
  • Wessel, D., & Mayr, E. (2007). Potentials & challenges of mobile media in museums. International Journal of Interactive Mobile Technologies, 1 (1), 32-39. URL: http://www.online-journals.org/index.php/i-jim/article/view/165/103.