• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Project

Math with the Dancemat

Working groupKnowledge Construction
Junior Research Group Neuro-cognitive Plasticity
Duration04/2016–04/2018
FundingDFG (3rd funding phase)
Project description

In basic research on numerical cognition it is assumed that numbers are represented along a spatially oriented mental number ray. This number ray representation is of eminent importance for more complex computational processes, as it is a basic prerequisite for understanding numbers. In addition, studies show that sensorimotor experiences in the sense of embodied cognition play an important role in its development.


This project investigated how senso-motoric experiences on a dance mat can be used to convey numerical content in order to supplement classical teaching-learning arrangements in a way that promotes learning. In the first two funding phases, it was shown that embodied numerical training is effective at primary school age and specifically promotes the learning of numerical content. Here, basic numerical skills, such as numerical size or the place value system, were made tangible by movements to the left and right on the dance mat. In the third funding phase, these findings were expanded to include new, more complex numerical content and new target groups. The focus was on the processing of natural and above all negative numbers. In this project, spatial-numeric associations could also be extended to the field of negative numbers.
In the sense of linking basic and applied research, this research project provided a better insight into the development of physical influences on number processing. In addition, the findings of this project can also be used for the development of multimedia intervention programs.

Cooperations

Prof. Dr. Hans-Christoph Nürk, University of Tübingen, Psychological Institute, Section Diagnostics and Cognitive Neuropsychology

Publications

Dackermann, T. Fischer, U., Nuerk, H.-C., Cress, U., & Moeller, K. (2017). Applying embodied cognition: from useful interventions and their theoretical underpinnings to practical applications. ZDM Mathematics Education.  https://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s11858-017-0850-z

Fischer, U., Moeller, K.,Class, F., Huber, S., Cress, U., & Nuerk, H.-C. (2016). Dancing with the SNARC: Measuring spatial-numerical associations on a digital dance mat. Canadian Journal of Experimental Psychology, 70, 306-315.  https://dx.doi.org/10.1037/cep0000084

Dackermann, T., Fischer, U., Cress, U., Nuerk, H.-C., & Moeller, K. (2016). Bewegtes Lernen numerischer Kompetenzen. Themenheft: Psychologie und Wissensmedien. Psychologische Rundschau, 67(2), 102-109.  https://dx.doi.org/10.1026/0033-3042/a000302

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Projekt

Mathe mit der Matte

ArbeitsgruppeWissenskonstruktion
Nachwuchsgruppe Neuro-kognitive Plastizität
Laufzeit04/2016 - 04/2018
FörderungDFG (3. Förderphase)
Projektbeschreibung

In der Grundlagenforschung zur numerischen Kognition wird angenommen, dass Zahlen entlang eines räumlich orientierten mentalen Zahlenstrahls repräsentiert werden. Diese Zahlenstrahlrepräsentation ist für komplexere Rechenprozesse von eminenter Bedeutung, da sie eine Basisvoraussetzung für das Zahlenverständnis darstellt. Zusätzlich zeigen Studien, dass bei seiner Entwicklung auch senso-motorische Erfahrungen im Sinne einer verkörperlichten Kognition (Embodied Cognition) eine bedeutende Rolle spielen.


In diesem Projekt wurde erforscht, wie senso-motorische Erfahrungen auf einer Tanzmatte für die Vermittlung numerischer Inhalte genutzt werden können, um klassische Lehr-Lern-Arrangements in lernförderlicher Weise zu ergänzen. In den ersten beiden Förderphasen konnte gezeigt werden, dass verkörperlichte numerische Trainings im Grundschulalter wirksam sind und das Erlernen numerischer Inhalte gezielt fördern. Hierbei wurden basisnumerische Fähigkeiten, wie z.B. Zahlengröße oder das Stellenwertsystem, durch Bewegungen nach links und rechts auf der Tanzmatte ganzkörperlich erfahrbar gemacht. In der dritten Förderphase wurden diese Befunde auf neue, komplexere numerische Inhalte sowie neue Zielgruppen erweitert. Dabei lag der Fokus auf der Verarbeitung natürlicher und vor allem negativer Zahlen. In diesem Projekt konnten räumlich-numerische Assoziationen auch auf den Bereich negativer Zahlen erweitert werden.
Im Sinne einer Verknüpfung von Grundlagen- und Anwendungsforschung ermöglichte dieses Forschungsprojekt einen besseren Einblick in die Entwicklung körperlicher Einflüsse auf Zahlenverarbeitung. Außerdem sind die Befunde dieses Projekts auch für die Entwicklung multimedialer Interventionsprogramme nutzbar.

Kooperationen

Prof. Dr. Hans-Christoph Nürk, Universität Tübingen, Psychologisches Institut, Abteilung für Diagnostik und Kognitive Neuropsychologie

Publikationen

Dackermann, T. Fischer, U., Nuerk, H.-C., Cress, U., & Moeller, K. (2017). Applying embodied cognition: from useful interventions and their theoretical underpinnings to practical applications. ZDM Mathematics Education.  https://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s11858-017-0850-z

Fischer, U., Moeller, K.,Class, F., Huber, S., Cress, U., & Nuerk, H.-C. (2016). Dancing with the SNARC: Measuring spatial-numerical associations on a digital dance mat. Canadian Journal of Experimental Psychology, 70, 306-315.  https://dx.doi.org/10.1037/cep0000084

Dackermann, T., Fischer, U., Cress, U., Nuerk, H.-C., & Moeller, K. (2016). Bewegtes Lernen numerischer Kompetenzen. Themenheft: Psychologie und Wissensmedien. Psychologische Rundschau, 67(2), 102-109.  https://dx.doi.org/10.1026/0033-3042/a000302