mobile icon
Project

Democratization of expert knowledge: map production and map use in new media landscapes

Working groupRealistic depictions Lab
Duration

06/2014–12/2017

Funding

Leibniz Competition

Project description

Interactive maps, for instance Google Maps, progressively replace the well-known road-atlas, hiking/biking maps and maps for educational purposes. The distinction between map makers and map users becomes more and more blurred as users are offered with tools to (co-)design the map by zooming in, pinning locations and depicting different information in one single map. In the project, we investigated whether the option to interactively edit maps is used and how it influences the perception as well as the transfer and evaluation of the depicted information.

The research project was concerned with the scarcely asked questions about the construction and editing of digital maps: What are the consequences of active map editing on the perception and cognition of these maps? Do different notations and editing tools lead to different perception and cognition processes? Does the engagement with map design and its numerous degrees of freedom lead to a generally changed attitude towards maps?

The cooperation with the Leibniz Institute for Regional Geography in Leipzig allowed for a user-centered, interdisciplinary approach. The cartographers, communication and cultural scientists focused more in the context of use and its conditions as well as on the analysis of actually offered and used cartographic languages, whereas the cognitive psychologists at the IWM focused on the influence of map representations and map editing on the perception and comprehension of the depicted information.

Cooperations

Leibniz Institute for Regional Geography, Leipzig

contact

Dr. Julia Moritz Dr. Julia Moritz
Tel.: +49 7071 979-211

mobile icon
Projekt

Demokratisierung von Expertenwissen: Kartenproduktion und Kartengebrauch in neuen Medienwelten

Arbeitsgruppe

Realitätsnahe Darstellungen

Laufzeit

06/2014–12/2017

Förderung

Leibniz-Wettbewerb

Projektbeschreibung

Interaktive Karten, wie z.B. Google Maps, lösen Straßenatlas, Freizeit- und Unterrichtskarten zunehmend ab. Sie führen dazu, dass die traditionelle Unterscheidung zwischen Kartenersteller und -nutzer zunehmend verschwimmt, da Nutzer die Karte selbst (mit)gestalten können, indem sie hineinzoomen, Orte online markieren sowie unterschiedlichste Informationen auf einer Karte darstellen. Ob diese Möglichkeiten genutzt werden und welche Folgen die Nutzung für die Wahrnehmung, Informationsvermittlung und -bewertung hat, ist Gegenstand dieses Projektes.

Das Forschungsprojekt setzte sich mit bisher kaum untersuchten Fragen zur Erstellung und Bearbeitung von digitalen Karten auseinander: Welchen Einfluss hat die aktive Bearbeitung von digitalen Karten auf die Wahrnehmung und Verarbeitung? Führen unterschiedliche Arten der Darstellung und verschiedene Bearbeitungswerkzeuge zu unterschiedlicher Wahrnehmung und mentaler Verarbeitung der dargestellten Sachverhalte? Führt die Auseinandersetzung mit den Freiheitsgraden bei der Gestaltung einer Karte zu einem veränderten generellen Umgang mit Karten?

Die Kooperation mit dem Leibniz-Institut für Länderkunde (IfL) in Leipzig erlaubte eine nutzerzentrierte Betrachtung der Thematik aus mehreren Disziplinen. So untersuchten die dortigen Kartographen, Kommunikations-, und Kulturwissenschaftler vor allem Nutzungskontext und -bedingungen sowie die Analyse aktuell angebotener und genutzter Kartensprachen. Die Kognitionspsychologen des IWM beschäftigten sich dagegen intensiver mit dem Einfluss der Kartendarstellung und -bearbeitung auf die Wahrnehmung und das Verständnis der Karten.

Kooperationen

Leibniz-Institut für Länderkunde, Leipzig

Kontakt

Julia Moritz Julia Moritz
Tel.: +49 7071 979-211