• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Project

Digital Atlas of Geopolitical Imaginaries of Eastern Central Europe – Geoimaginaries

Realistic Depictions

Duration

May 2011 – December 2015

Funding

Leibniz Association, Competitive funds

Description

Over the past years the ubiquity of digital visualizations from interactive thematic maps has grown considerably. Everywhere maps are used as strategy for a better comprehension of the world. Beside questions of navigation- and distance calculation functions, which are answered in the field of topographic maps, the user has the opportunity to find actual information in the internet about the positioning of his friends, the constituency or the crime rate of his neighborhood, the quality of the soil as well as a possible connection of the gross domestic product and the probability of a world cup winning. Thematic maps as interactive infographics appear more frequently in the Internet in order to simplify visualizations of complex matters and for the use on mobile devices.

tablet

Due to the continuing technological change there is also a democratization process of open access to geo- and statistical data taking place, which gains access to an increasing amount of data for all users. The handling with technical offer on the one hand and growing data variety on the other needs to be studied in the field of research in cognitive science: How are these maps perceived and processed? In what kind of knowledge acquisition does the use of thematic maps result?

 

The Leibniz Association collaborative project, composed of four academic fields, is to develop a “Digital Atlas of Geopolitical Imaginaries of Eastern Central Europe”. The aim is to examine the possibilities for using new media in visualizing thematic maps as interactive infographics and the results are to be implemented in the conception and realization of the atlas. The IWM in particular focuses on the cognitive processes of dynamic presentations in interactive digital maps by means of laboratory experimental studies (attentional processes during map reading, Eyetracking and Usability Studies).

Cooperations

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Projekt

Digitaler Atlas politischer Raumbilder zu Ostmitteleuropa im 20. Jahrhundert – DAPRO/Geoimaginaries

Arbeitsgruppe Realitätsnahe Darstellungen

Laufzeit

Mai 2011 – Dezember 2015

Förderung

Wettbewerbsfonds der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft im Rahmen des Pakts für Forschung und Innovation

Projektbeschreibung

Die Allgegenwärtigkeit digitaler Visualisierungen interaktiver thematischer Karten hat in den vergangenen Jahren stark zugenommen. Überall werden Karten als Strategie der Welterfassung eingesetzt. Neben herkömmlichen Navigierungs- und Entfernungsberechnungsfunktionen mit topografischen Karten, hat der Nutzer inzwischen die Möglichkeit, im Netz aktuelle Informationen über die Ortung seiner Freunde abzurufen, er kann sich über den Wählerkreis, die Kriminalität in seiner Nachbarschaft, über die Qualität des Bodens oder über eine mögliche Verbindung von Bruttoinlandsprodukt und der Wahrscheinlichkeit eines-WM Sieges informieren. Zunehmend tauchen thematische Karten als interaktive Infografiken im Netz zur vereinfachten Visualisierung komplexer Sachverhalte und für die Nutzung auf unterschiedlichsten mobilen Endgeräten auf.

tablet

Durch den rasanten technischen Wandel findet gleichzeitig ein Demo­kratisierungs­prozess von frei im Netz verfügbaren Geodaten und statistischen Daten statt, welcher die Datenflut für jeden Nutzer abrufbar und verwertbar macht. Der Umgang mit technischem Angebot auf der einen und wachsender Datenvielfalt auf der anderen Seite stellt daher auch wichtige Fragen an das Forschungsgebiet der Kognitionspsychologie: Wie werden diese Karten wahrgenommen, verarbeitet und zu welchem Wissenserwerb führt der Umgang mit interaktiven thematischen Karten?

 

Das Kooperationsprojekt der Leibniz Gesellschaft, bestehend aus vier Forschungsdisziplinen, entwickelt dabei einen „Digitalen Atlas politischer Raumbilder zu Ostmitteleuropa“ („DAPRO“). Die Möglichkeit des Einsatzes digitaler Medien bei der Visualisierung von thematischen Karten in Form interaktiver Infografiken soll hierbei geprüft werden und die Ergebnisse bei der Konzeptionierung und Implementierung des Atlas' umgesetzt werden. Das IWM untersucht hier die mentale Verarbeitung interaktiver thematischer Karten anhand laborexperimenteller Studien (Aufmerksamkeitsstudien, Blickbewegungsmessung, Usability Studien).

Kooperationen