mobile icon
Project

Parental Mobile Media use for Stress Management

Junior Research groupSocial Media
Duration02/2018-01/2020
FundingIWM budget resources
Project description

Mobile media have become part of the everyday lifes of families and are used in various ways. However, current research still focuses relatively little on the use of media by parents. The aim of this dissertation project is to investigate how parents use mobile media such as smartphones to cope with stress and under which circumstances stress management with mobile media is successful.


The dissertation project is divided into three subprojects. In an elaborate systematic review of the literature, the state of research on stress management with media in general is systematically reviewed. The research landscape on this topic is interdisciplinary and very heterogeneous. For this reason, particular attention is paid to the theoretical approaches used in the various disciplines and to how these can be integrated.
In the second subproject, parents are interviewed in focus groups about their stress management with mobile media. Particular attention will be paid to how the special conditions in the everyday life with children shapes the use of mobile media and how parents perceive and evaluate their own use in stressful situations. Three different groups of participants will be interviewed in separate focus groups: mothers in Tübingen, fathers in Tübingen and patients (mothers/fathers) in parent-child cure clinics.
In the third subproject, an experience sampling study will be carried out. Several times a day, parents will answer short questionnaires on their current stress perception, stress management and media usage. The aim is to investigate the situations in which parents use mobile media, which content is used and the conditions of use for successful stress management.

Cooperations

Dr. Frank Schneider (University of Mannheim)

mobile icon
Projekt

Elterliches Stress-Management mit mobilen Medien

nachwuchsgruppeSoziale Medien
Laufzeit02/2018-01/2020
FörderungIWM-Haushaltsmittel
Projektbeschreibung

Mobile Medien gehören heute zum Alltag von Familien und werden in verschiedenen Bereichen eingesetzt. Die elterliche Mediennutzung steht in der aktuellen Forschung jedoch noch relativ wenig im Fokus. In diesem Dissertationsprojekt soll erforscht werden, wie Eltern mobile Medien wie Smartphones für die Stressbewältigung einsetzen und unter welchen Umständen das Stressmanagement mit mobilen Medien Erfolg hat.


Das Dissertationsprojekt ist in drei Teilprojekte unterteilt. In einem aufwendigen systematischen Literaturüberblick wird der Forschungsstand zu Stressmanagement mit Medien allgemein systematisch aufgearbeitet. Die Forschungslandschaft zu diesem Thema ist interdisziplinär und sehr heterogen. Daher wird besonders beleuchtet, mit welchen theoretischen Zugängen in den verschiedenen Disziplinen gearbeitet wird und wie diese integriert werden können.
Im zweiten Teilprojekt werden Eltern in Fokusgruppen zu ihrem Stressmanagement mit mobilen Medien befragt. Dabei wird vor allem betrachtet, wie die besonderen Rahmenbedingungen im Alltag mit Kindern den Einsatz von mobilen Medien beeinflussen und wie Eltern ihre eigene Nutzung in Stress-Situationen wahrnehmen und bewerten. Dabei werden drei verschiedenen Gruppen von Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern in getrennten Fokusgruppen befragt: Mütter in Tübingen, Väter in Tübingen und Patientinnen und Patienten (Mütter/Väter) in Eltern-Kind-Kur-Kliniken.
Im dritten Unterprojekt wird eine Experience Sampling Studie durchgeführt. Dabei beantworten Eltern mehrmals am Tag kurze Fragebogen zu ihrem aktuellen Stressempfinden, ihrem aktuellen Stressmanagement und ihrer Mediennutzung. Untersucht werden soll, in welchen Situationen Eltern mobile Medien einsetzen, welche Inhalte genau genutzt werden und was einen erfolgreichen Einsatz zum Stressmanagement bedingt.

Kooperationen

Dr. Frank Schneider (Universität Mannheim)