• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
Project

The impact of health threat on knowledge acquisition on the Internet

Working groupSocial Processes Lab
Duration

09/2010 - open

FundingLeibniz-WissenschaftsCampus Tübingen, IWM budget resources
Project description

Besides content-related interest about a specific topic, personal relevance, too, provides motivation for individuals to search for information on the Internet. This personal relevance may, for example, result from experiencing health-related threat. How does health-related threat influence information search on the Internet (e.g., generation of search terms, selection of links, and memory for the information read) and the representation of one's own health?


Health-related threat is an affective-motivational state which activates defense mechanisms to reduce the threat – that may be positively biased information tendencies beneficial to self-esteem. When patients gather information from the Internet in a self-directed fashion, they will (1) search for and receive information in a positively biased way (e.g., focus especially on the chance of getting cured) and (2) thus represent their own health more positively.

 

Laboratory experiments and a longitudinal field study within this project support these assumptions. In the further course, in another longitudinal study the impact of health-related threat on decisions with regard to participation in preventive measures shall be investigated.
Cooperations

Competence Center for University Teaching in Medicine, University of Tübingen

Institute for Ethics and the History of Medicine, University of Tübingen

Knowledge construction Lab

Publications

Becker, D., Grapendorf, J., Greving, H., & Sassenberg, K. (2018). Perceived threat and Internet use predict intentions to get bowel cancer screening (colonoscopy): A longitudinal questionnaire study. Journal of Medical Internet Research, 20(2), e46. https://dx.doi.org/10.2196/jmir.9144

Sassenberg, K., & Greving, H. (2016). Internet searching about disease elicits a positive perception of own health when severity of illness is high: A longitudinal questionnaire study. Journal of Medical Internet Research, 18(3), e56.  http://dx.doi.org/10.2196/jmir.5140.

Greving, H., Sassenberg, K., & Fetterman, A. (2015). Counter-regulating on the Internet: Threat elicits preferential processing of positive information. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied, 21, 287-299.

Our Reserach in the Media (Selection)

Unternehmen heute http://unternehmen-heute.de/news.php?newsid=340886

Medizin Aspekte: https://medizin-aspekte.de/62636-wenn-patienten-googlen-fuehlen-sie-sich-gesuender/

mobile icon
Projekt

Der Einfluss gesundheitlicher Bedrohung auf den Wissenserwerb im Internet

Arbeitsgruppe

Soziale Prozesse

Laufzeit09/2010 - 12/2018
FörderungLeibniz-WissenschaftsCampus Tübingen, IWM-Haushaltsmittel
Projektbeschreibung

Neben inhaltlichem Interesse für ein bestimmtes Thema motiviert auch persönliche Relevanz die Informationssuche im Internet. Diese persönliche Relevanz kann zum Beispiel aus erlebter gesundheitlicher Bedrohung resultieren. Wie beeinflusst gesundheitliche Bedrohung die Informationssuche im Internet (z. B. die Generierung von Suchbegriffen, die Selektion von Links und die Erinnerung an die gelesene Information) und die Repräsentation der eigenen Gesundheit?


Gesundheitliche Bedrohung ist ein affektiv-motivationaler Zustand, der Abwehrmechanismen zur Reduktion der Bedrohung auslöst – dies können z. B. selbstwertdienliche, positiv verzerrte Informierungstendenzen sein. Wenn Patienten selbstgesteuert Informationen im Internet suchen, so werden sie (1) Informationen positiv verzerrt suchen und rezipieren (z. B. vor allem auf die Heilungschancen fokussieren) und (2) dadurch die eigene Gesundheit positiver repräsentieren.


Laborexperimente und eine längsschnittliche Feldstudie innerhalb des Projektes haben diese Erwartungen belegt. Zudem wurde in einer weiteren Längsschnittstudie die Auswirkung von gesundheitlicher Bedrohung auf Entscheidungen bzgl. der Teilnahme an Präventionsmaßnahmen betrachtet.


Kooperationen

Kompetenzzentrum für Hochschuldidaktik in Medizin, Universität Tübingen

Institut für Ethik und Geschichte der Medizin, Universität Tübingen

AG Wissenskonstruktion

Publikationen

Becker, D., Grapendorf, J., Greving, H., & Sassenberg, K. (2018). Perceived threat and Internet use predict intentions to get bowel cancer screening (colonoscopy): A longitudinal questionnaire study. Journal of Medical Internet Research, 20(2), e46. https://dx.doi.org/10.2196/jmir.9144

Sassenberg, K., & Greving, H. (2016). Internet searching about disease elicits a positive perception of own health when severity of illness is high: A longitudinal questionnaire study. Journal of Medical Internet Research, 18(3), e56.  http://dx.doi.org/10.2196/jmir.5140.

Greving, H., Sassenberg, K., & Fetterman, A. (2015). Counter-regulating on the Internet: Threat elicits preferential processing of positive information. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Applied, 21, 287-299.

Unserer Forschung in den Medien (Auszug)

Unternehmen heute http://unternehmen-heute.de/news.php?newsid=340886

Medizin Aspekte: https://medizin-aspekte.de/62636-wenn-patienten-googlen-fuehlen-sie-sich-gesuender/

projektkontakt

Prof. Dr. Kai Sassenberg Prof. Dr. Kai Sassenberg
Tel.: +49 7071 979-220

Projektteam

Dr. Daniela Becker