mobile icon
Project

PROCESSING DYNAMIC VISUALIZATIONS WITH MIRROR NEURONS

Lab
DurationApril 2012–open-ended
FundingIWM Budget Resources
Project description

This project investigates the idea that the activation of specific areas in the brain is beneficial for learning about continuous processes with dynamic visualizations. These areas in the brain (the so-called human mirror-neuron-system) are used to understand and imitate actions of other persons. We addressed, whether gestures that correspond or do not correspond to the to-be-learned processes, activate the mirror-neuron-system and enhance learning outcomes.


The mirror-neuron-system is typically activated by human movements, but may be more generally used to also represent other biological or even non-biological movements (if these movements can be anthropomorphized by the observer). In the domain of learning about continuous processes, one effective instructional strategy to activate the mirror-neuron-system might be to show learners not only the to-be-learned processes, but also human gestures displaying the to-be-learned dynamics in order to trigger an anthropomorphized encoding. It has already been shown that the production of such gestures during learning is beneficial for acquiring knowledge. We investigated in in a series of studies using neurophysiological methods (i.e., functional near-infrared-spectroscopy [fNIRS]) whether showing gesture-based interventions is really beneficial to acquire knowledge about continuous processes. Therefore, we showed either gestures that correspond to the to-be-learned biological movement patterns or gestures that do not correspond to the to-be-learned biological movement patterns. First results indicate that particularly non-corresponding gestures entail unexpected potential. Particularly, learners with high visuospatial ability from these non-corresponding gestures. Also, learners with low visuospatial ability can benefit from these non-corresponding gestures, if they activate a certain area of the mirror-neuron-system – the inferior-parietal cortex. Further studies address these relations in more detail.

Cooperations

Ann-Christine Ehlis, Department of Psychiatry & Psychotherapy, University Hospital Tuebingen, Calwerstr. 14, 72076 Tuebingen

Publications

Brucker, B., Ehlis, A.-C., Häußinger, F.B., Fallgatter, A.J., & Gerjets, P. (2015). Watching corresponding gestures facilitates learning with animations by activating human mirror-neurons: An fNIRS study. Learning and Instruction, 36, 27-37. https://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.learninstruc.2014.11.003

Imhof, B., Ehlis, A.-C., Häußinger, F. B., & Gerjets, P. (2013). Watching gestures during learning about movements with dynamic visualization activates the human mirror neuron system: A fNIRS study. In M. Knauff, M. Pauen, N. Sebanz, & I. Wachsmuth (Eds.), Proceedings of the 35th Annual Conference of the Cognitive Science Society (pp. 2608-2613). Austin, TX: Cognitive Science Society.

Brucker, B., de Koning, B., Ehlis, A.-C., Rosenbaum, D., & Gerjets, P. (2017). Watching Non-Corresponding Gestures Helps Learners with High Visuospatial Ability to Learn about Movements with Dynamic Visualizations: An fNIRS Study. In G. Gunzelmann, A.Howes, T. Tenbrink, & E. Davelaar (Eds.), Proceedings of the 39th Annual Conference of the Cognitive Science Society (pp. xx-xx). London, UK: Cognitive Science Society.

contact

Dr. Birgit Brucker Dr. Birgit Brucker
Tel.: +49 7071 979-222

mobile icon
Projekt

VERARBEITUNG VON DYNAMISCHEN VISUALISIERUNGEN MIT HILFE VON SPIEGELNEURONEN

Arbeitsgruppe
LaufzeitLaufzeit: April 2012– offen
FörderungHausmittel IWM
Projektbeschreibung

Dieses Projekt befasst sich mit der Idee, dass eine Aktivierung bestimmter Areale im Gehirn das Lernen über kontinuierliche Prozesse mit dynamischen Visualisierungen fördert. Die entsprechenden Areale im Gehirn (das sogenannte menschliche Spiegelneuronensystem) werden dazu genutzt, Aktionen anderer Personen zu verstehen und zu imitieren. Es wird untersucht, ob Gesten, die den zu lernenden Prozessen entsprechen oder nicht-entsprechen, das Spiegelneuronensystem aktivieren und den Lernerfolg verbessern.


Normalerweise wird das Spiegelneuronensystem durch menschliche Bewegungen aktiviert, möglicherweise kann es aber generell dazu genutzt werden, biologische oder sogar nicht-biologische Bewegungen zu repräsentieren (wenn diese Bewegungen durch den Beobachter anthropomorphisiert werden können). Um das Spiegelneuronensystem beim Lernen über Bewegungen zu aktivieren, könnte es eine hilfreiche Strategie sein, dem Lerner nicht nur die zu lernenden Prozesse, sondern auch menschliche Gesten zu zeigen, die den zu lernenden Prozessen entsprechen. Dadurch kann eine anthropomorphisierte Enkodierung der zu lernenden Information angeregt werden. Es wurde bereits gezeigt, dass die Produktion solcher Gesten während des Lernens hilfreich für den Wissenserwerb ist. In einer Serie von Studien wird jetzt unter Einsatz neurophysiologischer Methoden (funktionelle Nahinfrarotspektoskropie [fNIRS]) überprüft, ob das Zeigen gestenbasierter Interventionen sich wirklich förderlich auf den Wissenserwerb über dynamische Prozesse auswirkt. Dabei wurden entweder Gesten gezeigt, die zu den zu lernenden biologischen Bewegungsmustern passen, oder Gesten, die nicht zu den zu lernenden biologischen Bewgeungsmustern passen. Erste Ergebnisse zeigen, dass besonders nicht-passende Gesten ein unerwartetes Potential in sich bergen. Besonders Lerner mit hohem visuell-räumlichen Vorstellungsvermögen profitieren von diesen nicht-passenden Gesten. Und auch Lerner mit niedrigem visuell-räumlichen Vorstellungsvermögen können von diesen nicht-passenden Gesten profitieren, wenn sie ein bestimmtes Areal des Spiegelneuronensystems – den inferiorparietalen Kortex – aktivieren. Weitere Studien untersuchen diese Zusammenhänge genauer.

Kooperationen

Ann-Christine Ehlis, Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie, Universitätsklinikum Tübingen, Calwerstr. 14, 72076 Tübingen

Publikationen

Brucker, B., Ehlis, A.-C., Häußinger, F.B., Fallgatter, A.J., & Gerjets, P. (2015). Watching corresponding gestures facilitates learning with animations by activating human mirror-neurons: An fNIRS study. Learning and Instruction, 36, 27-37. https://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.learninstruc.2014.11.003

Imhof, B., Ehlis, A.-C., Häußinger, F. B., & Gerjets, P. (2013). Watching gestures during learning about movements with dynamic visualization activates the human mirror neuron system: A fNIRS study. In M. Knauff, M. Pauen, N. Sebanz, & I. Wachsmuth (Eds.), Proceedings of the 35th Annual Conference of the Cognitive Science Society (pp. 2608-2613). Austin, TX: Cognitive Science Society.

Brucker, B., de Koning, B., Ehlis, A.-C., Rosenbaum, D., & Gerjets, P. (2017). Watching Non-Corresponding Gestures Helps Learners with High Visuospatial Ability to Learn about Movements with Dynamic Visualizations: An fNIRS Study. In G. Gunzelmann, A.Howes, T. Tenbrink, & E. Davelaar (Eds.), Proceedings of the 39th Annual Conference of the Cognitive Science Society (pp. xx-xx). London, UK: Cognitive Science Society.