mobile icon
Project

Visual perception of events: The influence of a moving observer viewpoint

Working groupRealistic Depictions Lab
Duration

03/2014 - open-end

Funding

Budget resources

Project description

During the observation of dynamic events there are often two kinds of movement: On the one hand there are moving objects and persons in the 3-dimensional space, and on the other hand the observer him/herself is not static but changes continuously his point of view. Situations like this occur in everyday life for example when driving a car or playing a football game. Also visual media very often use filmic means like a moving camera.


This project examined if a moving observer viewpoint can intensify or lessen the impression of movement of the actors. Animated chasing sequences showed two actors moving one behind the other. These sequences were filmed with either a static camera or a moving camera following the actors. In several experiments participants always had to judge if the chasing actor would catch up with the chased one or if he would fall back, i.e. participants had to forecast the outcome of the chase.
Several experiments showed that forecasting the outcome of the chase was not most exact when the static camera was used: If a static camera presented the chasing sequence, participants often judged the chasing actor as being faster than he really was. Further it could be shown that this misperception could be reduced by using a moving camera: If a moving camera followed the actors, participants judged the chasing actor as being less fast and forecasted the outcome of the chase more exactly. The results of the project are on the one hand important for our understanding of everyday perception in situations in which observers of a dynamic event themselves are moving, for example when driving a car. On the other hand results can support the useful usage of a moving camera viewpoint when presenting visual dynamic events in instructional films.

Cooperations

Dr. Tobias Meilinger
Max Planck Institute for biological cybernetics, Tübingen

Publications

Meilinger, T., Garsoffky, B., & Schwan, S. (2017). A catch-up illusion arising from a distance-dependent perception bias in judging relative movement. Scientific Reports, 7:17037. https://dx.doi.org/10.1038/s41598-017-17158-8

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Projekt

Visuelle Wahrnehmung von Handlungen: Einfluss einer bewegten Beobachterperspektive

ArbeitsgruppeRealitätsnahe Darstellungen
Laufzeit03/2014 - 11/2017
FörderungHausmittel IWM
Projektbeschreibung

Bei der Beobachtung von dynamischem Geschehen überlagern sich häufig zwei Bewegungsarten: Zum einen bewegen sich Personen oder Objekte im dreidimensionalen Raum und zum anderen ist häufig der Beobachtende selbst nicht statisch, sondern wechselt kontinuierlich den Blickpunkt. Solche Situationen entstehen im Alltag zum Beispiel beim Autofahren oder als Spieler in einem Fußballspiel. Auch visuelle Medien nutzen die Darbietungsfreiheit und verwenden visuelle Stilmittel wie Kamerafahrten.


Das Projekt untersuchte, ob eine bewegte Beobachterperspektive die Bewegung der Akteure verstärken oder abschwächen kann. Zu diesem Zweck wurden Verfolgungssequenzen animiert, in denen zwei Akteure hintereinander laufen. Diese Sequenzen wurden entweder mit statischer Kamera oder mit bewegter Kamera dargeboten. Die Aufgabe der Versuchspersonen in verschiedenen Laborstudien war zu beurteilen, ob der Verfolger den Verfolgten einholen würde oder eher zurückfallen würde. Sie sollten also den Ausgang der Verfolgung einschätzen.
In mehreren Experimenten zeigte sich zum einen, dass der Ausgang bei statischer Kamera nicht am genauesten vorhergesagt werden kann: Bei statischer Kamera schätzten die Versuchspersonen den Verfolger häufig schneller ein als er tatsächlich war. Zum anderen zeigte sich, dass diese Fehleinschätzungen durch eine bewegte Kamera verhindert werden können: Wenn die Kamera hinter der Verfolgungsszene herfuhr wurde der Verfolger subjektiv als weniger schnell erlebt und der Ausgang der Verfolgung besser vorhergesagt. Die Ergebnisse des Projektes sind einerseits wichtig für das Verständnis von Wahrnehmung im Alltag, wenn Beobachter eines dynamischen Geschehens selbst auch eine bewegte Perspektive haben, wie z. B. beim Autofahren. Zum anderen können die Ergebnisse zu einem sinnvollen Einsatz bewegter Kameraperspektiven bei der Darstellung visuellen dynamischen Geschehens in Lehrfilmen beitragen.

Kooperationen

Dr. Tobias Meilinger
Max-Planck Institut für biologische Kybernetik, Tübingen

Publikationen
Meilinger, T., Garsoffky, B., & Schwan, S. (2017). A catch-up illusion arising from a distance-dependent perception bias in judging relative movement. Scientific Reports, 7:17037.  https://dx.doi.org/10.1038/s41598-017-17158-8