mobile icon
Project

The influence of haptic exploration of objects on knowledge acquisition and interest

WorkgroupRealistic Depictions
Duration10/2017 - open end
FundingBudget resources
Project description

While current theories on learning in multimedia learning environments concentrate on visual and auditory access, this dissertation project focuses on a different sensory approach to learning content: The haptics and haptic exploration of physical objects. Thus, the extent to which this haptic experience - in combination with visual impressions - influences learning and the learning experience in informal learning environments, such as museums and exhibitions, is investigated.


To investigate this question, learning content on a current topic is developed and prepared in a way that is typical for museums. These learning contents are presented to the participants in an exhibition at IWM, whereby the sensual access that the participants receive during the reception of the exhibits is systematically varied: While some recipients are allowed to touch the objects, other recipients are not allowed to do so.
In this dissertation project not only the pure acquisition of knowledge on a cognitive level is explored, but the entire "learning experience". A special focus is placed on affective-motivational outcomes - such as situational interest, motivation for further employment and emotionality.
The insights gained from the dissertation project can be important and taken into account for the design of informal learning settings - for example in museums - but the transfer of these findings into other - more formal - learning contexts could also be interesting.

contact

Magdalena Novak Magdalena Novak
Tel.: +49 7071 979-365

mobile icon
Projekt

Der Einfluss haptischer Erkundung von Gegenständen auf Wissenserwerb und Interesse

ArbeitsgruppeRealitätsnahe Darstellungen
Laufzeit10/2017 - offen
FörderungIWM-Haushaltsmittel
Projektbeschreibung

Gängige Theorien zum Lernen in multimedialen Lernumwelten konzentrieren sich auf den visuellen und den auditiven Zugang. In diesem Dissertationsprojekt steht ein anderer Sinn im Fokus: die Haptik. So wird untersucht, inwiefern das haptische Erkunden von physischen Objekten – in Kombination mit visuellen Eindrücken – das Lernen und die Lernerfahrung in informellen Lernumgebungen beeinflusst, zum Beispiel in Museen und Ausstellungen.


Zur Untersuchung dieser Frage werden Lerninhalte zu einem aktuellen Thema entwickelt und museumstypisch aufbereitet. Diese Lerninhalte werden in einer Ausstellung im IWM präsentiert, wobei systematisch variiert wird, welchen sinnlichen Zugang die Versuchsteilnehmenden erhalten: Während einige die Objekte anfassen dürfen, bleibt dies anderen verwehrt.
In diesem Projekt wird nicht nur der reine Wissenserwerb auf kognitiver Ebene erforscht, sondern das gesamte „Lernerlebnis“. So wird ein besonderer Fokus auf affektiv-motivationale Outcomes gelegt – wie beispielsweise situationales Interesse, Motivation zur Weiterbeschäftigung und Emotionalität.
Die Erkenntnisse aus dem Projekt können zum einen für die Gestaltung informeller Lernsettings – beispielsweise in Museen – von Bedeutung sein. Zum anderen stellt der Transfer dieser Erkenntnisse in andere, formellere Lernkontexte einen interessanten Anknüpfungspunkt dar.

Kontakt

Magdalena Novak Magdalena Novak
Tel.: +49 7071 979-365