mobile icon
Project

CODING TO FOSTER COMPUTATIONAL THINKING THROUGH PLAYING & CREATING

WorkgroupJunior Research Group Neuro-cognitive Plasticity
Duration04/2019-03/2020
FundingHector Foundation II
Project description

Being able to code or program reflects a crucial 21st century skill. Coding as a practical skill shares common concepts with the psychological construct of Computational Thinking (CT) as a cognitive ability. CT denotes the idea of developing a generic solution to a problem by decomposing it, identifying relevant variables and patterns, and deriving an algorithmic solution procedure. In the current project a Hector Core Course is developed and evaluated, which aims at fostering CT by teaching children to code.


Current research results show significant correlations between CT and visual-spatial and problem-solving skills. We therefore expect, that fostering CT comes with beneficial transfer effects on solving tasks in different knowledge domains such as science, technology, and mathematics, which draw heavily on the application of domain-specific but also domain-general cognitive abilities. This course aims at establishing an innovative approach on introducing primary school children to CT and further develop their CT ability by specifically promoting the explicit association of CT concepts with logical thinking and problem solving through creative playful activities. The instructional design of the course relies on game-based unplugged (i.e. a life-size board game series “Crabs & Turtles”) and plugged-in activities, multimodal concept demonstrations and an interdisciplinary approach on CT concepts. Its’ learning objectives are derived from and can be adapted to different learning domains and real-life conditions such as problems related to STEM contents.


 On the one hand, the project focuses on the design, development and evaluation of the course material and on the other hand we investigate the cognitive abilities involved in CT. Moreover, the project explores motivational factors triggered through dedicated computational thinking curriculums. The developed game series “Crabs & Turtles” is the winner of the “6th International Educational Games Competition 2018”.

Cooperations
  • Prof. Dr. Jessika Golle, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Trautwein, University of Tübingen, Hector Research Institute of Education Sciences and Psychology

  • Prof. Dr. Niels Pinkwart, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Computer Science Education / Computer Science and Society

  • Prof. Dr. Martin Butz, University of Tübingen, Cognitive Modelling

Publications
  • Tsarava, K., Moeller, K., & Ninaus, M. (2018). Training Computational Thinking through board games: The case of Crabs & Turtles. International Journal of Serious Games, 5(2), 25-44.https://dx.doi.org/10.17083/ijsg.v5i2.248

  • Tsarava, K., Moeller, K., Pinkwart, N., Butz, M., Trautwein, U., & Ninaus, M. (2017). Training computational thinking: Game-based unplugged and plugged-in activities in primary school. Proceedings of the 11th European Conference on Game Based Learning (pp. 687-695). Reading, UK: Academic Conferences and Publishing International Limited

Website

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Projekt

PROGRAMMIEREN ZUR FÖRDERUNG VON COMPUTATIONAL THINKING DURCH SPIELEN & GESTALTEN

NachwuchsgruppeNeuro-kognitive Plastizität
Laufzeit04/2019-03/2020
FörderungHector Stiftung II
Projektbeschreibung

Die Fähigkeit zu Programmieren ist eine entscheidende Fähigkeit des 21. Jahrhunderts. Programmieren – als praktische Fähigkeit – teilt gemeinsame Konzepte mit dem psychologischen Konstrukt des Computational Thinking (CT). CT bezeichnet die Grundidee, eine generische Lösung für ein Problem zu entwickeln, indem man es zerlegt, relevante Variablen und Muster identifiziert und ein algorithmisches Lösungsverfahren ableitet. Im aktuellen Projekt wird ein Hector Core Kurs entwickelt und evaluiert, welcher darauf abzielt CT bei Kindern zu fördern.


Bisherige Forschungsergebnisse zeigen signifikante Korrelationen zwischen CT und visuell-räumlichen Fähigkeiten und der Problemlösungskompetenz. Es wird daher untersucht, ob die Förderung von CT positive Transfereffekte bei der Lösung von Aufgaben in verschiedenen Wissensbereichen wie Naturwissenschaften, Technik und Mathematik mit sich bringt, die sich stark auf die Anwendung von domänenspezifischen, aber auch von domänenübergreifenden kognitiven Fähigkeiten stützen. Ziel dieses Kurses ist es, einen innovativen Ansatz zur Einführung von Grundschülern in CT zu etablieren und ihre CT-Fähigkeiten weiterzuentwickeln, indem die explizite Verknüpfung von CT-Konzepten mit logischem Denken und Problemlösen durch kreative spielerische Aktivitäten gezielt gefördert wird. Die didaktische Gestaltung des Kurses basiert auf spielgestützen Unplugged- (d.h. einer lebensgroßen Brettspiel-Serie „Krabben & Schildkröten“) und Plug-in-Aktivitäten, multimodalen Konzeptdemonstrationen und einem interdisziplinären Ansatz für CT-Konzepte. Die Lernziele werden von verschiedenen Lernbereichen und realen Bedingungen, wie beispielsweise Problemen im Zusammenhang mit MINT-Inhalten, abgeleitet und können an diese angepasst werden.


Die Ziele dieses Projekts konzentrieren sich einerseits auf die Konzeption, Entwicklung und Auswertung des Kursmaterials und andererseits auf die genaue Untersuchung von CT als kognitive Fähigkeit. Darüber hinaus untersucht das Projekt die Motivationsfaktoren, die durch spezielle CT Lehrpläne ausgelöst werden. Die Brettspiel-Serie „Krabben & Schildkröten“, welche für den Kurs entwickelt wurde, belegte den ersten Platz in der „6th International Educational Games Competition 2018“.

Kooperationen
  • Prof. Dr. Jessika Golle, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Trautwein, Universität Tübingen, Hector-Institut für Empirische Bildungsforschung

  • Prof. Dr. Niels Pinkwart, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Lehrstuhl für Didaktik der Informatik / Informatik und Gesellschaft

  • Prof. Dr. Martin Butz, Universität Tübingen, Lehrstuhl für Kognitive Modellierung

Publikationen
  • Tsarava, K., Moeller, K., & Ninaus, M. (2018). Training Computational Thinking through board games: The case of Crabs & Turtles. International Journal of Serious Games, 5(2), 25-44.https://dx.doi.org/10.17083/ijsg.v5i2.248

  • Tsarava, K., Moeller, K., Pinkwart, N., Butz, M., Trautwein, U., & Ninaus, M. (2017). Training computational thinking: Game-based unplugged and plugged-in activities in primary school. Proceedings of the 11th European Conference on Game Based Learning (pp. 687-695). Reading, UK: Academic Conferences and Publishing International Limited

Webseite