• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
mobile icon
Mission

Mission statement of the Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien (IWM)

We are a non-profit, non-university research institute of the Leibniz Association. We explore empirically how people acquire, apply, impart and exchange knowledge through digital media. Our focus lies on the cognitive, motivational, emotional, and social processes involved in using digital media within the context of social and technical developments. As we analyze these processes, we also address the inherent potential and risks for human experience and behavior.

 

Scientists from different disciplines, such as psychology, cognitive neuroscience, computer science, linguistics and communication science, contribute basic research expertise at the Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien in order to answer questions relevant for practice and society. With this multi-faceted perspective we are able to address multilayer research objects comprehensively and translate them into questions we can research empirically. Together with our co-operation partners from various scientific disciplines and from diverse fields of practice, we make our research results accessible to a broad range of potential users.

 

We would like to establish ourselves as an international leader in our field of research. We make progress and gain visibility in the scientific field through a successful mix of established and innovative topics and methods.

 

Qualified, highly motivated employees in research and service are our most valuable capital and the basis for our performance in the institute as a whole.

 

We are committed to equal opportunity and the reconciliation of work and family life. We provide the best possible conditions in order to support our employees both professionally and personally in the best possible way.

 

We communicate transparently and proactively as equals and strive to create an appreciative, respectful and pleasant working environment. Personal integrity, open-mindedness as well as tolerance and fairness in how we deal with each other are the values that characterize our institute across all hierarchy levels.

 

 

In our work we define ourselves by our adherence to the following values and motives:

 

  1. We strive for scientific excellence in application-oriented, basic research.
  2. We aim at gaining knowledge relevant to current societal needs and practice. Here we focus on five fields of application: School, university, museum, knowledge work, and internet usage.
  3. We consider scientific evidence to be the basis of our communication with the scientific community, stakeholders from the practice, and the general public.
  4. We do independent research and are committed to the highest ethical standards for research.
  5. We reflect upon the implications of our findings with respect to human beings’ self-determination and maturity.
  6. We place high value on supporting young researchers, providing equal opportunities, and reconciling work and family life.

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Leitbild

Leitbild des Leibniz-Instituts für Wissensmedien (IWM)

Wir sind ein gemeinnütziges, außeruniversitäres Forschungsinstitut der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, das empirisch erforscht, wie Menschen mit digitalen Medien Wissen erwerben, anwenden, vermitteln und austauschen. Wir betrachten kognitive, motivationale, emotionale und soziale Prozesse bei der Nutzung digitaler Medien im Kontext gesellschaftlicher und technischer Entwicklungen. Dabei thematisieren wir auch Potenziale und Risiken, die sich dadurch für das menschliche Erleben und Verhalten ergeben.

 

Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unterschiedlicher Disziplinen wie der Psychologie, kognitiven Neurowissenschaft, Informatik, Linguistik und der Kommunikationswissenschaft bringen im Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien ihre grundlagenwissenschaftliche Expertise ein, um für Praxis und Gesellschaft relevante Fragen zu beantworten. Diese Perspektive versetzt uns in die Lage, unsere vielschichtigen Forschungsgegenstände umfassend zu adressieren und in empirisch untersuchbare Fragestellungen zu übersetzen. Mit unseren Kooperationspartnerinnen und -partnern aus verschiedenen Disziplinen sowie den Praxisfeldern machen wir unsere Forschungsergebnisse für potenzielle Anwenderinnen und Anwender zugänglich.

 

In unserem Forschungsbereich streben wir eine international führende Rolle an. Erkenntnisfortschritt und Sichtbarkeit erreichen wir durch eine gelungene Mischung etablierter und innovativer Themen und Herangehensweisen.

 

Qualifizierte, hochmotivierte Beschäftigte in den Forschungs- und Servicebereichen sind unser zentrales Kapital und bilden das Fundament unserer Leistungsfähigkeit als Gesamtinstitut.

 

Wir engagieren uns für Chancengleichheit und die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie und schaffen darüber hinaus bestmögliche Rahmenbedingungen, um unsere Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter fachlich und persönlich optimal zu unterstützen und zu fördern.

 

Wir kommunizieren transparent und proaktiv auf Augenhöhe und achten auf ein wertschätzendes, respektvolles und kollegiales Miteinander. Persönliche Integrität, Offenheit für Neues sowie Toleranz und Fairness im Umgang miteinander prägen unser Institut über alle Hierarchieebenen hinweg und sind für uns selbstverständlich.

 

 

In unserer Arbeit zeichnen wir uns durch folgende Werte und Motive aus:

 

  1. Wir streben nach wissenschaftlicher Exzellenz in anwendungsorientierter Grundlagenforschung.
  2. Wir streben nach Erkenntnisgewinn mit Relevanz für Gesellschaft und Praxis. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns auf fünf Praxisfelder: Schule, Hochschule, Museen, Wissensarbeit und Internetnutzung.
  3. Wir betrachten wissenschaftliche Evidenz als Grundlage unserer Kommunikation an die Wissenschaftsgemeinde, Akteurinnen und Akteure in den Praxisfeldern sowie die breite Öffentlichkeit.
  4. Wir betreiben unabhängige Forschung und orientieren uns an höchsten forschungsethischen Standards.
  5. Wir reflektieren die Bedeutung unserer Befunde in Hinblick auf Selbstbestimmtheit und Mündigkeit des Menschen.
  6. Wir legen Wert auf Nachwuchsförderung, Chancengleichheit und die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie.