• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
Equal Opportunities

The IWM promotes equal opportunities for men and women. As member of the German Leibniz Association the IWM is committed to putting into practice the Research-Oriented Standards on Gender Equality of the DFG and to applying the institute's policy on gender equality.



Persons

At the IWM this topic is of high priority for the directorate. To ensure close communication between the Scientific Steering Committee and the Equal Opportunity Commissioner of the IWM, Executive Director Prof. Dr. Ulrike Cress has been appointed Senior Representative for Equal Opportunity on the Scientific Steering Committee.


The Equal Opportunity Commissioner at the IWM is elected by the female employees of the IWM and is assigned for a term of four years. Currently, the Equal Opportunity Commissioner of the IWM is Dr. Anne Schüler, and her deputy is Dr. Yvonne Kammerer.


The Equal Opportunity Commissioner is responsible for all matters that concern questions of gender equality at the IWM. In particular, this includes supporting internal communication processes, the implementation of the Research-Oriented Standards on Gender Equality of the DFG, taking part in hiring procedures, and participating in the auditing process berufundfamilie.





Audit beruf und familie (audit job and
family

In March 2012, the berufundfamilie audit certificate was awarded to the IWM. This certificate testifies that the IWM defined and implemented more than 45 objectives concerning equal opportunity matters that help to ensure a better work-family balance at the institute. In May 2015 and May 2018 the institute was successfully recertified and has committed itself currently to the implementation of nearly 50 new measures.


Some of these objectives have already been put into practice:

  • childcare subsidy
  • a mobile parent-child office
  • flexible work schedules
  • support of employees in non-work phases such as parental leave or care for relatives
  • an internal information platform for topics regarding the balance between family and career, and equal opportunities

Funding instruments for women

As a member of the Leibniz Association in Baden-Württemberg the IWM supports several funding instruments in order to promote the academic career of women:


  • Mentoring Programme for Female Scholars at Leibniz Institutes
  • Funding Lines of the "Leibniz Competition", such as the Leibniz Programme for Women Professors
  • Margarete von Wrangell-Habilitationsprogramm

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Chancengleichheit

Das IWM fördert die Chancengleichheit von Frauen und Männern. Als Mitglied der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft hat sich das IWM u.a. dazu verpflichtet, die Forschungsorientierten Gleichstellungsstandards der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft umzusetzen sowie die Gleichstellungspolitik des Instituts zertifizieren zu lassen.


Personen

Das Thema Gleichstellung ist am IWM als Leitungsaufgabe verankert. Um eine enge kommunikative Verzahnung zwischen den leitenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern und der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten des Instituts zu gewährleisten, wurde das Amt der "Leitungsbeauftragten für Gleichstellung und die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie" eingeführt, das aktuell IWM-Direktorin Prof. Dr. Ulrike Cress wahrnimmt.


Die Gleichstellungsbeauftragte des IWM wird aus dem Kreis der weiblichen Beschäftigten gewählt und jeweils für vier Jahre bestellt. Die derzeitige Gleichstellungsbeauftragte ist Dr. Anne Thillosen, ihre Stellvertreterin Dr. Anne Schüler.


Die Tätigkeiten der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten betreffen alle gleichstellungsrelevanten Fragen des Instituts. Im Wesentlichen umfassen diese die Unterstützung der institutsinternen Kommunikation in Gleichstellungsfragen, die Umsetzung der Forschungsorientierten Gleichstellungsstandards der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft, die Beteiligung an Einstellungsverfahren sowie die Beteiligung am Auditierungsprozess berufundfamilie.


Audit beruf und familie

Im März 2012 wurde das IWM mit dem Zertifikat audit berufundfamilie ausgezeichnet. In den Zielvereinbarungen des Audits hat das IWM mehr als 30 Maßnahmen in unterschiedlichen Handlungsfeldern definiert und umgesetzt, die die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie für die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Instituts erleichtern sollen. Im Mai 2015 wurde das Institut erfolgreich rezertifiziert und hat sich in der aktuellen Auditierungsphase zur Umsetzung von knapp 50 neuen Maßnahmen verpflichtet.


Einige bereits umgesetzte Maßnahmen:


  • Kinderbetreuungskostenzuschuss
  • mobiles Eltern-Kind-Arbeitszimmer
  • flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle
  • interne Austauschplattform zu den Themen Beruf und Familie und Gleichstellung

Förderungen für Frauen

Als Leibniz-Institut in Baden-Württemberg unterstützt das IWM verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Förderung der Wissenschaftskarriere von Frauen:


  • Leibniz-Mentoring
  • Förderlinien des Leibniz-Wettbewerbs, wie z.B. Leibniz-Professorinnenprogramm
  • Margarete von Wrangell-Habilitationsprogramm