• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
Fields
of research

Speeding up knowledge

Research at the IWM is divided into the following research areas: Individual use of knowledge media, Social use of knowledge media and Cross-sectional activities.

Research Departments

Individual use of knowledge media

The focus of the research area Individual use of knowledge media is on individual learners’ knowledge-related processes when using digital information. The research area is divided into three labs and one junior research group.

The Multimodal Interaction Lab researches the interaction of digital information on the basis of different sensory and motoric modalities. The focus is on the multimodal handling of multiple information resources and on the use of sensor-based interaction modalities such as multi touch or brain-computer interfaces.

The Realistic Depictions Lab focuses on the processes underlying information processing and knowledge acquisition when looking at vivid static and dynamic visualizations such as illustrations, videos or virtual environments.

The Multiple Representations Lab works on the question which information processes are involved in learning with combined symbol systems, especially text-picture combinations, and on how to provide instructional support for learners that perform these processes.

The Junior Research Group Neuro-cognitive Plasticity researches the neuro-cognitive processes underlying media-based learning as well as the plasticity associated with learning. The focus of the Junior Research Group is on numeric-mathematical competencies and their development.



Social use of knowledge media

The research area Social use of knowledge media is also divided into three labs and one junior research group. The four groups research the potential and risks of using digital communication and cooperation media for collaborative knowledge work and knowledge acquisition.

The Social Processes Lab focuses on researching the influence of social factors (e.g., the interdependence of communication partners) and of users’ emotions (e.g., the perceived threat by study partners that are better than oneself) on media-mediated cooperation and knowledge acquisition.

The Knowledge Exchange Lab researches cognitive and media conditions (e.g., awareness about the knowledge of others) that direct learning and knowledge exchange with digital media. Both the Social Processes and the Knowledge Exchange Lab aim at identifying the social and cognitive conditions of knowledge exchange in media-mediated and media-supported contexts.

The research of the Knowledge Construction Lab focuses on media settings in which large groups work together on a joint knowledge artefact (e.g., a knowledge platform). In these settings knowledge is usually not exchanged directly between users but via the artefact (the media platform) and the processes happening there. In such situations new knowledge develops on an individual and on a group level.

The Junior Research Group Social Media researches knowledge exchange in the context of digital social networks. News in social networks are often quoted out of the social and textual context and shared multiple times. Therefore, this way of communicating is seen more as a special form of knowledge artefacts and less as a communication between individuals. The Junior Research Group looks at the role the users’ social network (size, structure) plays in knowledge exchange and personal knowledge acquisition.



Cross-sectional activities

The Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus Tübingen »Informational Environments« presents an institutionalized form of the IWM’s cross-sectional activities. In this research network which was established in 2009, departments of the IWM cooperate with partners of the University of Tübingen and project partners in Freiburg and Mannheim. Together, they study how the availability of web-based resources interacts with life-long learning.

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Forschungs-
bereiche

Wo das Wissen beschleunigt wird

Die Forschung am IWM gliedert sich in die Bereiche Individuelle Nutzung von Wissensmedien, Soziale Nutzung von Wissensmedien sowie Forschungsbereichübergreifende Aktivitäten.

Forschungsbereiche am IWM

Individuelle Nutzung von Wissensmedien

Gegenstand des Forschungsbereichs Individuelle Nutzung von Wissensmedien sind die wissensbezogenen Nutzungs- und Verarbeitungsprozesse individueller Lerner bei digitalen Informationsangeboten. Der Forschungsbereich gliedert sich in drei Arbeitsgruppen und eine Nachwuchsgruppe.

Die Arbeitsgruppe Multimodale Interaktion untersucht die Interaktion mit digitalen Informationsangeboten auf Basis unterschiedlicher sensorischer und motorischer Modalitäten. Der Fokus liegt auf dem multimodalen Umgang mit multiplen Informationsquellen sowie auf der Nutzung sensorbasierter Interaktionsmodalitäten wie Multi-Touch oder Brain-Computer-Interfaces.

Im Zentrum der Arbeitsgruppe Realitätsnahe Darstellungen steht die Frage nach Prozessen der Informationsverarbeitung und des Wissenserwerbs bei statischen und dynamischen Visualisierungen, die sich durch einen hohen Grad von Anschaulichkeit auszeichnen, beispielsweise Abbildungen, Videos oder virtuelle Welten.

Die Arbeitsgruppe Multiple Repräsentationen beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, welche Informationsverarbeitungsprozesse beim Lernen mit kombinierten Symbolsystemen, insbesondere mit Text-Bild Kombinationen, beteiligt sind und wie Lernende bei der Ausführung dieser Prozesse instruktional unterstützt werden können.

Im Fokus der Nachwuchsgruppe Neuro-kognitive Plastizität stehen die neuro-kognitiven Prozesse, die medienbasiertem Lernen zugrunde liegen sowie deren mit Lernen assoziierte Plastizität. Dabei liegt der inhaltliche Schwerpunkt auf numerisch-mathematischen Kompetenzen und deren Entwicklung.



Soziale Nutzung von Wissensmedien

Der Forschungsbereich Soziale Nutzung von Wissensmedien erforscht die Potenziale und Gefahren der Nutzung digitaler Kommunikations- und Kooperationsmedien bei der Zusammenarbeit und beim kollaborativen Wissenserwerb. Er setzt sich aus ebenfalls drei Arbeitsgruppen und einer Nachwuchsgruppe zusammen.

Der Schwerpunkt der Arbeitsgruppe Soziale Prozesse liegt auf der Untersuchung des Einflusses von sozialen Faktoren (z. B. der wechselseitigen Abhängigkeit von Kommunikationspartnerinnen und Kommunikationspartnern untereinander) und von Emotionen der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer (z. B. die erlebte Bedrohung durch bessere Lernpartner) auf die medienvermittelte Kooperation und den Wissenserwerb.

Die Arbeitsgruppe Wissensaustausch betrachtet kognitive und mediale Rahmenbedingungen (z. B. das Bewusstsein über das Wissen anderer Personen), die das Lernen und den Wissensaustausch mit digitalen Medien lenken. Ziel beider Arbeitsgruppen ist es, die sozialen und kognitiven Bedingungen des Wissensaustausches in medienvermittelten oder medienunterstützten Kontexten zu identifizieren.

Die Forschung der Arbeitsgruppe Wissenskonstruktion fokussiert auf mediale Settings, in denen große Gruppen von Personen an einem gemeinsamen Wissensartefakt (z. B. einer Wissensplattform) arbeiten. Wissen wird hier in der Regel nicht direkt zwischen Nutzerinnen und Nutzern, sondern über das Artefakt (d. h. die mediale Plattform) und die dort ablaufenden Prozesse ausgetauscht. Dabei entsteht auf individueller und Gruppenebene neues Wissen.

Die Nachwuchsgruppe Soziale Medien betrachtet den Wissensaustausch im Kontext digitaler sozialer Netzwerke. Da Nachrichten auf sozialen Netzwerken häufig aus dem sozialen und inhaltlichen Zusammenhang gerissen und vielfach geteilt werden, wird diese Art der Kommunikation als eine besondere Form von Wissensartefakten und weniger als Kommunikation zwischen einzelnen Personen betrachtet. Hier wird die Rolle des sozialen Netzwerks (Größe, Zusammensetzung) der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer im Wissensaustausch und dem eigenen Wissenserwerb beforscht.



Forschungsbereichübergreifende Aktivitäten

Eine institutionalisierte Form forschungsbereichübergreifender Aktivitäten stellt der Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus Tübingen (WCT) »Cognitive Interfaces« dar, seit 2017 die Fortführung des WCT »Bildung in Informationsumwelten«. In diesem Forschungsverbund kooperieren Abteilungen des IWM interdisziplinär mit Partnern der Universität Tübingen. Der WCT fokussiert darauf, wie sich Denken, Handeln und Arbeiten im Kontext digitaler Medien durch die Gestaltung von Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen verbessern lassen.