• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
Research

Knowledge Media and Knowledge Processes in a Digital Society

Knowledge and competent handling of knowledge are central success factors for industrial nations. However, knowledge is not only an important economic factor but is also the prerequisite for participation in social and political processes and decisions.


From a psychological perspective, knowledge is linked to multiple processes. Teaching and learning, in other words, knowledge transfer and acquisition, include the processes of knowledge creation or construction, interpersonal knowledge exchange and knowledge application.


The IWM views knowledge processes primarily from a perspective that focuses on information processing of the individual and on interpersonal communication. The following prototypical research questions guide our work:

Which requirements and competencies are necessary for the successful usage of digital media for knowledge processes and how can they be transmitted?

How do changes in the cognitive "division of labor" between human and digital tools impact knowledge processes?

What roles do innovative cognitive interfaces play for knowledge processes?

How do social and motivational factors impact knowledge exchange and knowledge usage with digital media?

How does a group of people jointly construct knowledge?



Fundamental Principles

In answering these questions, the following fundamental principles guide our work:

Integration of theory, technology and content

Research projects at the IWM are located at the interface of theory, technology and content.


Theory. Theories from psychology, communication and neuro science predict information processing procedures. At the IWM, we test these theories, refine them and apply them in order to gain more differentiated results about processes of knowledge-related media usage.


Technology. The IWM researches the effects technology has on knowledge acquisition and exchange – both positive and obstructive effects.


Content. Processes of teaching and learning are dependent upon content. Therefore, research at the IWM always takes into account content and context. We work together with appropriate experts whenever necessary.

 
 
Methodical Variety

Research at the IWM is characterized by a wide variety of study designs and applied methods. Depending on the question, the methods range from experimental lab research with randomized reference groups, to quasi-experimental field research with existing groups such as school classes, to representative longitudinal studies. We use differing measurement methods such as questionnaires, knowledge tests, eye-tracking, neuro-scientific measurements with visual and electrophysiological procedures, Learning Analytics, Machine Learning or semantic analysis of Big Data.

Interdisciplinarity

Research at the IWM is also strongly characterized by interdisciplinary cooperation. Where the technology and content of a research goal suggest it, we work together with partners from computer science, teaching methodology, empirical educational research, media science, medicine or other disciplines. We enjoy particularly close relations to researchers of the University of Tübingen via the collaboration with the Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus, LEAD (graduate school in the context of the excellence initiative Tübingen) and the Tübingen School of Education (TüSe).

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Forschung

Wissensmedien und Wissensprozesse in einer digitalen Gesellschaft

Wissen und der kompetente Umgang damit sind ein zentraler Erfolgsfaktor der Industrienationen. Wissen bildet aber nicht nur einen wichtigen Wirtschaftsfaktor, sondern ist auch die Voraussetzung für eine mündige Teilhabe an sozialen, gesellschaftlichen und politischen Prozessen und Entscheidungen.


Aus psychologischer Sicht geht Wissen mit einer Vielzahl von Prozessen einher. Neben dem Lehren und Lernen, d.h. der Vermittlung und dem Erwerb von Wissen, spielt auch die Schaffung bzw. Konstruktion von neuem Wissen, der interpersonale Austausch von Wissen oder die Anwendung von Wissen eine Rolle.


Das IWM betrachtet Wissensprozesse primär unter der Perspektive der Informationsverarbeitung des einzelnen Menschen und der Kommunikation zwischen Menschen. Folgende prototypische Forschungsfragen prägen unsere Arbeit:


  • Welche Voraussetzungen und Kompetenzen sind für die erfolgreiche Nutzung digitaler Medien für Wissensprozesse nötig und wie können sie vermittelt werden?
  • Wie wirkt sich eine veränderte kognitive „Arbeitsteilung“ zwischen Mensch und digitalen Werkzeugen auf Wissensprozesse aus?
  • Welche Rolle spielen innovative kognitive Schnittstellen für Wissensprozesse?
  • Wie beeinflussen soziale und motivationale Faktoren den Wissensaustausch und die Wissensnutzung mit digitalen Medien?
  • Wie wird Wissen in einer Gruppe von Menschen gemeinsam konstruiert?



Grundprinzipien

Bei der Beantwortung dieser Fragen leiten folgende Grundprinzipien unsere Arbeit:

Integration von Theorie, Technik und Thematik

Forschungsprojekte am IWM bewegen sich im Schnittfeld der drei Perspektiven Theorie, Technologie und inhaltliche Thematik.


Theorie. Theorien aus Psychologie, Kommunikations- und Neurowissenschaft sagen Prozesse der Informationsverarbeitung vorher. Diese Theorien werden am IWM, geprüft, weiterentwickelt und angewendet, um differenziertere Erkenntnisse über Prozesse der wissensbezogenen Mediennutzung zu gewinnen.


Technologie. Das IWM untersucht, welche positiven unterstützenden, aber auch welche hinderlichen Einflüsse Technologie auf Wissenserwerb und -austausch hat.


Thematik. Lern- und Wissensprozesse sind nicht unabhängig vom Inhaltsthema. Deshalb werden in der Forschung am IWM auch immer die Inhalts- und Kontextspezifität berücksichtigt und mit Inhalts- und Vermittlungsexperten zusammengearbeitet, wie dies nötig ist.

Methodische Vielfalt

Kennzeichnend für die Forschung des IWM ist die Vielfalt der Studiendesigns und verwendeten Methoden. Je nach Fragestellung reichen die Methoden von der experimentellen Laborforschung mit randomisierten Vergleichsgruppen über quasiexperimentelle Feldforschung mit bestehenden Gruppen wie z.B. Schulklassen, bis hin zu repräsentativen Längsschnittstudien. Dabei kommen unterschiedlichste Messmethoden zum Einsatz, z.B. Fragebogen, Wissenstests, Blickbewegungsmessungen, neurowissenschaftliche Messungen mit bildgebenden und elektrophysiologischen Verfahren, Learning Analytics, Maschine Learning oder semantische Analysen von Big Data.

Interdisziplinarität

Die Forschungsarbeit des IWM ist stark durch interdisziplinäre Kooperationen gekennzeichnet. Wo Technologie und Themen es nahelegen, bestehen Kooperationen mit Partnern aus Informatik, Fachdidaktik, Empirischer Bildungsforschung, Medienwissenschaft, Medizin oder anderen Disziplinen. Besonders enge Kooperationen bestehen zu Forschern der Tübinger Universität durch die Zusammenarbeit im Leibniz-WissenschaftsCampus , in LEAD (Graduiertenschule im Rahmen der Exzellenzinitiative Tübingen) und in der Tübinger School of Education (TüSe).