mobile icon
Project

Dr. Tide: Digital Research Tailored Information Detector

Junior Research groupSocial Media
Duration05/2016 - 10/2019
FundingEurostars/BMBF
Project description

Organizations have to process and understand their internal and external data. In order to do so, many organizations use visualization tools to design graphs. However, when actually designing these visualizations, often questions emerge: How should complex data be visualized to improve decision making? How can cognitive overload of the users be prevented? How flexible or interactive should self-service visualization options be?


In the Eurostars-project 'Dr. Tide: Digital Research Tailored Information Detector' it was explored in cooperation with a German and a Norwegian company how complex data should be visualized. For this purpose, visualization rules derived from the literature were empirically tested with both, students and pilot users from one of the participating companies. At the beginning of the project, the focus was mainly on the design of static visualizations. Towards the end of the project, the focus was on self-service visualizations. Using complex data from the agricultural insurance sector (cultivated varieties, weather, damage caused by drought or hail), it was examined whether and how autonomously varying the presentation format helps users to gain a better understanding of the data. The experiments on the effects of self-creation of visualizations showed that the complexity of the question and the previous knowledge of the users play an important role. Overall, the experiments showed that it is useful for Dr. TIDE to provide the users with a limited number of meaningful interaction possibilities.

Kooperationen

Genillard & Co

OSINT Analytics

Publications

Kopp, T., Riekert, M., & Utz, S. (2018). When cognitive fit outweighs cognitive load: Redundant data labels in charts increase accuracy and speed of information extraction. Computers in Human Behavior, 86, 367-376. https://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2018.04.037.

Website

Project Website: Dr TIDE

mobile icon
Projekt

Dr. Tide: Digital Research Tailored Information Detector

NachwuchsgruppeSoziale Medien
Laufzeit05/2016 - 10/2019
FörderungEurostars/BMBF
Projektbeschreibung

Organisationen müssen interne und externe Daten auswerten und überblicken. Im Zeitalter von Big Data greifen hierfür immer mehr Organisationen auf Visualisierungstools zurück, mit denen sich Grafiken erstellen lassen. Bei der Gestaltung von Visualisierungen existieren jedoch einige Schwierigkeiten: Wie sollten komplexe Daten visualisiert werden, um bei der Entscheidungsfindung nützlich zu sein? Wie lässt sich eine Überforderung der Nutzenden verhindern? Wie flexibel bzw. interaktiv sollten sich Visualisierungsformate nachträglich variieren lassen?


Im Eurostars-Projekt „Dr. Tide: Digital Research Tailored Information Detector“ wurde in Kooperation mit einem deutschen und einem norwegischen Unternehmen erforscht, wie komplexe Daten visualisiert werden sollten. Dazu wurden aus der Literatur gewonnene Visualisierungsregeln sowohl mit Pilotnutzern und -nutzerinnen eines beteiligten Unternehmens als auch mit Studierenden empirisch getestet. Zu Beginn des Projekts wurde dabei hauptsächlich auf das Design von statischen Visualisierungen eingegangen. Gegen Ende des Projekts wurde der Schwerpunkt auf interaktive Visualisierungen verlegt. Am Beispiel komplexer Daten aus dem Agrarversicherungsbereich (angebaute Sorten, Wetter, Schäden durch Dürre oder Hagel) wurde untersucht, ob und wie das selbständige Variieren des Präsentationsformats den Nutzenden dabei hilft, ein besseres Verständnis der Daten zu erwerben. Die Experimente zu den Effekten des Selbsterstellens von Visualisierungen zeigten, dass die Komplexität der Fragestellung und das Vorwissen der Nutzenden eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Insgesamt zeigten die Experimente, dass es für "Dr. TIDE" sinnvoll ist, den Nutzenden eine beschränkte Anzahl sinnvoller Interaktionsmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Kooperationen

Genillard & Co

OSINT Analytics

Publikationen

Kopp, T., Riekert, M., & Utz, S. (2018). When cognitive fit outweighs cognitive load: Redundant data labels in charts increase accuracy and speed of information extraction. Computers in Human Behavior, 86, 367-376. https://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2018.04.037.

Webseite

Projektwebseite: Dr TIDE