mobile icon
Project

Virtual Meetings in Private, Educational, and Professional Contexts – Effects and Success Factors

Junior Research GroupSocial Media 
Duration01/2021-open
FundingSAW Postdoc Network Seed Funding, IWM budget resources
Project description

With the beginning of the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic, many meetings in personal, educational, and professional contexts have been moved to the virtual realm. In a series of experiments and survey studies, this project aims at identifying and better understanding both effects and success factors of virtual meetings. One primary focus of the investigations is individual camera use and its positive and negative effects.


In a world with increasing mobility, videoconferencing platforms seem to be a great way to build and maintain social closeness with others who are physically distant – whether they are family and friends, fellow distance learning students, or remote colleagues. Indeed, when the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic began to place severe restrictions on in-person meetings in early 2020, videoconferencing platforms showed a never-before seen spike in user activity. This rapid adoption illustrates how important it is for humans to connect in ways that allow them to see others.
However, people frequently decide to keep their cameras turned off during these meetings. Currently, it is not well understood what motivates individuals to turn their cameras on or off and what the effects of turning one’s camera on or off are on one’s own and others’ meeting outcomes (e.g., meeting satisfaction, motivation, learning, and feelings of social connectedness). A combination of experiments and survey studies are being conducted to better understand the potential positive and negative effects videoconferences have in daily life, education, and work contexts. Furthermore, factors that may improve videoconferencing outcomes are being investigated. Ultimately, this project may help understand better how communication media should be designed and how virtual meetings should be organized to optimize their outcomes.

Cooperations
  • Associate Prof. Dr. Frances S. Chen, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada

contact

Dr. Christine Anderl Dr. Christine Anderl
Tel.: +49 7071 979-329

Project team

Prof. Dr. Sonja Utz

mobile icon
Projekt

Virtuelle Treffen in Alltag, Studium und Beruf – Auswirkungen und Erfolgsfaktoren

ArbeitsgruppeAlltagsmedien
Laufzeit01/2021-offen
FörderungSAW Postdoc-Netzwerk Seed Funding, IWM-Haushaltsmittel
Projektbeschreibung

Mit dem Beginn der SARS-CoV-2 Pandemie wurden viele Treffen in Alltag, Schule, Studium und Beruf in den virtuellen Raum verlegt. In diesem Projekt werden anhand einer Reihe von Experimenten und Fragebogenstudien die Auswirkungen und Erfolgsfaktoren virtueller Treffen untersucht. Im speziellen Fokus der Untersuchungen steht unter anderem die individuelle Nutzung der Kamera bei Videokonferenzen und deren positive und negative Auswirkungen.


In einer Welt mit zunehmender Mobilität scheinen Videokonferenzplattformen eine großartige Möglichkeit zu sein, soziale Nähe zu anderen aufzubauen und aufrechtzuerhalten, die weit entfernt sind – ob es sich nun um Familienangehörige und Freund*innen, andere Fernstudent*innen oder entfernte Kolleg*innen handelt. Tatsächlich verzeichneten Videokonferenzplattformen einen noch nie dagewesenen Anstieg der Nutzeraktivität, als die SARS-CoV-2-Pandemie Anfang 2020 begann, persönliche Treffen stark einzuschränken. Diese rasche Aufnahme zeigt, wie wichtig es für Menschen ist, sich auf Arten auszutauschen, die es ihnen ermöglicht, andere auch zu sehen.

Allerdings entscheiden sich Menschen häufig dafür, ihre Kameras während dieser Treffen auszulassen. Derzeit ist noch nicht genau bekannt, was die Menschen dazu bewegt, ihre Kameras ein- oder auszuschalten, und welche Auswirkungen das Ein- oder Ausschalten der Kamera bei virtuellen Treffen für die eigene Person und andere hat (z. B. Zufriedenheit mit der Besprechung, Motivation, Lernen und Gefühl der sozialen Verbundenheit). Es wird eine Kombination aus Experimenten und Umfragestudien durchgeführt, um die potenziellen positiven und negativen Auswirkungen von Videokonferenzen im täglichen Leben, in der Bildung und im Beruf besser zu verstehen. Außerdem werden Faktoren untersucht, die Videokonferenzen verbessern könnten. Letztendlich soll dieses Projekt dazu beitragen, besser zu verstehen, wie Kommunikationsmedien gestaltet und virtuelle Treffen organisiert werden sollten, um gute Ergebnisse zu erzielen.

Kooperationen
  • Associate Prof. Dr. Frances S. Chen, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Kanada

Kontakt

Dr. Christine Anderl Dr. Christine Anderl
Tel.: +49 7071 979-329

Projektteam

Prof. Dr. Sonja Utz