• Press Information
  • Contact
  • deutsch | english
Doing your PhD

Post-graduate research for a doctoral degree at the IWM

Supporting young researches is very important to us at the IWM. High quality doctoral theses are the key for excellent scientific research. Therefore, we support PhD students with a structured PhD program (Leibniz Graduate School for Knowledge Media Research).


Every PhD project at the IWM is linked to an in-house research unit that bundles thematically related projects. This structure guarantees our PhD students regular discussions with others, the possibility to exchange information about the research area, and the option to plan conference attendances and publications. At the end of their post-graduate studies at the IWM, PhD students usually obtain the degree of a Doctor of Natural Sciences (Doktor der Naturwissenschaften, Dr. rer. nat.) from the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Tübingen. For an overview of potential PhD thesis topics, have a look at the current projects of our labs or our job offers.


Our PhD program

  • Two supervisors provide support for the PhD student
  • PhD students are members of a lab
  • Weekly colloquium
  • Regular methodological seminars and additional methodological advice on request
  • Opportunities for lab visits abroad in line with the PhD thesis
  • Various opportunities for further training
  • Certificates for achievements
  • PhD students can depend on the support of the media technology and development teams

Application

If you are interested in a PhD position at the IWM, please send us your relevant application documents including CV, certificates and a presentation of your fields of interest as well as your work and/or research focus. If you have questions about the PhD program, please contact Prof. Dr. Ulrike Cress.

Requirements

We expect an above-average university degree in psychology (preferably with a focus on cognitive psychology, media psychology, pedagogical psychology or social psychology), experience in experimental research, a strong interest in the research topics of the IWM and the skills to be able to work independently as well as in a team.

Application address

Please send your application to the following address:

 

  • By mail:
    Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien,
    Verwaltung,
    Schleichstr. 6,
    D-72076 Tübingen
  • By E-Mail:

 

Please enclose all relevant documents to your pdf or word file.

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Promotion

Promotionsmöglichkeiten am IWM

Für das IWM ist die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses eine wichtige Aufgabe. Hochwertige Promotionen sind ein Schlüssel zu exzellenter wissenschaftlicher Arbeit und Qualität. Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden werden am IWM deshalb durch die Einbindung in ein strukturiertes Promotionsprogramm unterstützt (Leibniz Graduate School for Knowledge Media Research).

Jedes (Promotions-)Projekt am IWM ist in eine Arbeitsgruppe eingebunden, in der thematisch ähnliche Projekte gebündelt sind. Diese Struktur bietet unseren Promovierenden die Möglichkeit, sich regelmäßig zu besprechen, Informationen über das Forschungsgebiet auszutauschen und Konferenzbesuche und Publikationen zu planen. Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden des IWM promovieren in der Regel an der Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen (verliehener Titel: Dr. rer. nat.). Einen Überblick über potenzielle Promotionsthemen geben die aktuell laufenden Projekte unserer Arbeitsgruppen und unsere Stellenangebote.


Unser Doktorandenprogramm

  • Zwei Betreuende begleiten die Promotion.
  • Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden sind Mitglieder einer Arbeitsgruppe.
  • Wöchentliches Doktorandenkolloquium
  • Regelmäßiges Methodenseminar und zusätzliche Methodenberatung bei Bedarf
  • Möglichkeit zu Auslandsaufenthalten im Rahmen der Promotion (Lab Visits)
  • Verschiedene Weiterbildungsangebote
  • Zertifizierte Leistungen
  • Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden können auf die Expertise der Abteilungen Medientechnik und Medienentwicklung zurückgreifen

Bewerbung

Wenn Sie sich für eine Promotion am IWM interessieren, senden Sie uns bitte Ihre aussagekräftigen Bewerbungsunterlagen, inklusive Lebenslauf, Zeugnissen und einer Darstellung Ihrer Interessens-, Arbeits- und/oder Forschungsschwerpunkte. Wenn Sie Fragen zu unserem Promotionsprogramm haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an Prof. Dr. Ulrike Cress.

Voraussetzungen

Wir erwarten einen überdurchschnittlichen Abschluss in Psychologie (möglichst Schwerpunkt Kognitionspsychologie, Medienpsychologie, Pädagogische Psychologie oder Sozialpsychologie), Erfahrung im experimentellen Arbeiten, starkes Interesse an den Forschungsthemen des IWM, die Fähigkeit, sowohl selbständig als auch im Team zu arbeiten.

Bewerbungsadresse

Bitte richten Sie Ihre Bewerbung an folgende Adresse:

  • Per Post:
    Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien,
    Verwaltung,
    Schleichstr. 6,
    D-72076 Tübingen
  • Per E-Mail:

 

Bitte fügen Sie Ihrer PDF- oder Word-Datei alle einschlägigen Unterlagen bei.