mobile icon
Project

The visitors’ view on Obersalzberg: cognitive psychological analyses of the perception of an authentic location and its propagandistic staging during the time of National Socialism

WorkgroupRealistic Depictions Lab

Multimodal Interaction Lab

Social Processes Lab
Duration06/2016 - open
FundingLütjen-Drecoll Stiftung, IWM budget resources
Project description

The project „Visitors’ view on Obersalzberg“ focuses on two research questions: How can propaganda pictures get deconstructed? And how does the awareness of being in a historic place related to Nazi-history influence the perception, the processing and the judgements about associated pictures? Cooperation partner is the Institute for Contemporary History (Dokumentation Obersalzberg). Empiric findings are meant to flow into the realm of practice, the museum.

Places of remembrance linked to the history of National Socialism (NS, Nazi) are gaining importance during the last two decades. Obersalzberg is a place with references to the Nazi-regime and was used as a setting for Nazi-propaganda. Today an educational center about history and politics is located there. The project is divided into two thematic blocks: on the one hand the deconstruction of propaganda, on the other the impact of historical places.
A first experimental study already showed that prior information about the crimes that happened during the time of NS as well as the awareness of being at a place linked to that history had a negative influence on the personal mood. The negative personal mood in a next step influences the valence ratings of associated pictures. Within the project, both field studies and lab studies are conducted. Methodologically, a broad spectrum of objective (computer-based speech analyses, eye-tracking) and subjective measurements (questionnaires, rating scales) is used. Methods for the deconstruction of propaganda images are also investigated in virtual realities and with multi-touch surfaces.
The empiric findings are meant to build a basement for further psychological research as well as to get transferred to the conception of the new permanent exhibition of the Dokumentation Obersalzberg.

Cooperations

The Institute for Contemporary History Munich-Berlin (IfZ), Dokumentation Obersalzberg

mobile icon
Projekt

Der Obersalzberg aus Besuchersicht: Kognitive Wirkung eines historischen Ortes und seiner propagandistischen Inszenierung in der NS-Zeit

ArbeitsgruppeRealitätsnahe Darstellungen

Multimodale Interaktion

Soziale Prozesse
Laufzeit06/2016 - offen
FörderungLütjen-Drecoll Stiftung, IWM-Haushaltsmittel
Projektbeschreibung

Im Projekt „Der Obersalzberg aus Besuchersicht“ werden zwei Fragen untersucht: Wie können Propagandabilder dekonstruiert werden? Und wie wirkt sich das Bewusstsein, sich an einem historischen Ort mit hohem Bezug zur NS-Geschichte zu befinden, auf die Wahrnehmung, die Beurteilung und die Verarbeitung von assoziierten Bildern aus? Es besteht eine Kooperation mit dem Institut für Zeitgeschichte (Dokumentation Obersalzberg). Die empirischen Befunde sollen in das Praxisfeld Museum einfließen.


Erinnerungsorte mit historischem Bezug zur nationalsozialistischen (NS) Vergangenheit haben in den vergangenen zwei Jahrzehnten einen enormen Bedeutungsanstieg erlebt. Der Obersalzberg als ein zentraler politischer Ort der NS-Herrschaft und Kulisse der NS-Propaganda ist heute Dokumentationszentrum und Lernort für historisch-politische Bildung mit internationaler Reichweite. Das Projekt gliedert sich in zwei Themenblöcke: die Dekonstruktion von Propaganda und die Wirkung historischer Orte.
In einer ersten Laborstudie zeigte sich bereits, dass Vorinformationen zu den Verbrechen der NS-Zeit sowie das Bewusstsein, sich an einem solchen Tatort zu befinden, einen negativen Einfluss auf die persönliche Stimmung der Befragten haben. Die negative Stimmung sagte in einem nächsten Schritt vorher, dass assoziierte Bilder negativer beurteilt wurden. In dem Projekt werden sowohl Feldstudien direkt in der Dokumentation Obersalzberg als auch Laborstudien im Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien durchgeführt. Dabei kommt ein breites Spektrum an objektiven (computerbasierte Sprachanalysen, Eye-tracking) und subjektiven Messmethoden (Fragebögen, Rating-Skalen) zum Einsatz. Methoden zur Dekonstruktion von Propagandabildern werden zudem in virtuellen Realitäten und mit Multi-Touch-Oberflächen beforscht.
Die empirischen Befunde sollen zum einen eine Basis für weitere psychologische Forschung über die Wirkung historischer Orte bilden und zum anderen in die Gestaltung der neuen Dauerausstellung der Dokumentation Obersalzberg einfließen.

Kooperationen

Institut für Zeitgeschichte München-Berlin (IfZ), Dokumentation Obersalzberg