mobile icon
Project

The Interactive Ward Round Table – A Cognitive Interface for the Integration of Multiple Documents in Medical Team Meetings

LabMultimodal Interaction
Duration07/2017–12/2020
FundingLeibniz-WissenschaftsCampus „Cognitive Interfaces”, IWM budget resources 
Project description

In the daily ward round physicians use several documents for the optimal treatment of a patient. Medical information systems support this process. However, they are typically not optimized to integrate different information sources into one coherent overall picture. The aim of this project is to develop and implement a new cognitive interface to support physicians in their cognitive processes when working with multiple documents in the daily ward round.

Example screenshot of the interface: simultaneous presentation of multiple documents that can be arranged freely in size and position, but remain always assigned to the zoomable timeline.

The preparation of the daily ward round is a demanding task for a medical team: Multiple different documents such as indications, laboratory results, reports, doctor letters, radiology images, etc. have to be integrated into decisions about the diagnoses and treatments for each patient. Medical information systems play a central role in this process. They provide access to hundreds of medical documents. However, only a few documents can be discussed within the available time for each patient. Yet, medical information systems typically are not optimized to separate relevant from irrelevant documents and to integrate several sources of information into a coherent whole. Moreover, they typically are single-user applications.


In the present project we aim at designing and implementing a new cognitive interface that supports medical experts in their cognitive processes related to reading, evaluating, and integrating multiple documents when preparing for and conducting ward rounds. Specifically, we aim at developing an interactive multi-touch table interface on which multiple documents can be simultaneously displayed and compared. Implemented as a multi-user application with intuitive multi-touch movements such as rotating, sliding or zooming, our system also offers opportunities for group discussions during ward round preparation. In three lab experiments we will test core features of the cognitive interface and respective assumptions. Additionally, in a usability study the new prototype will be compared with a standard system currently in use at the Medical University Clinic Tübingen.


Link to the video project presentation

Cooperations

Prof. Dr. med. Michael Bitzer, Medical Clinic Tübingen


Publications

Leroy, C., Gerjets, P., Oestermeier, U., & Kammerer, Y. (in press). Simultaneous presentation of multiple documents and text-highlighting: Online integrative processes and offline integrated understanding. Scientific Studies of Reading. doi: https://doi.org/10.1080/10888438.2020.1784903

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., Büringer, K., Bitzer, M., Hornuff, S., Gerjets, P. (in press).The Interactive Ward Round Table: A Cognitive User Interface for Multi-Touch Tables to Support Clinical Diagnosis. Proceedings of the 8th International Conference on Healthcare Informatics (ICHI).

Leroy, C., Kammerer, Y., Oestermeier, U., Büringer, K., Bitzer, M., & Gerjets, P. (2019). Inferential Reasoning Driving Clinical Diagnosis: Suggestions for New Assessment Approaches. Proceedings of the 32nd IEEE International Symposium on Computer Based Medical Systems (CBMS) (pp. 551-554). IEEE. https://dx.doi.org/10.1109/cbms.2019.00113

• Presse
  • Kontakt
  • deutsch | english
Projekt

Interaktiver Visitetisch – Ein kognitives Interface für die Integration multipler Dokumente in medizinischen Team-Besprechungen

ArbeitsgruppeMultimodale Interaktion
Laufzeit07/2017–12/2019
FörderungLeibniz-WissenschaftsCampus „Cognitive Interfaces”
Projektbeschreibung

Mediziner nutzen bei der täglichen Visite zahlreiche Dokumente über den Patienten, um ihn oder sie bestmöglich zu behandeln. Dabei werden sie von medizinischen Informationssystemen unterstützt, die allerdings nicht dafür optimiert sind, verschiedene Informationsquellen in ein stimmiges Gesamtbild zu integrieren. Ziel des Projektes ist deshalb die Entwicklung und Implementierung eines neuen kognitiven Interface, das Ärztinnen und Ärzte in ihren kognitiven Prozessen beim Lesen, Bewerten und Integrieren multipler Dokumente bei der Visite unterstützt.

Simultane Präsentation multipler Dokumente
Beispiel-Screenshot des Interface: Simultane Präsentation multipler Dokumente, deren Größe und Position frei verändert werden kann, die gleichzeitig aber immer auf der zoombaren Timeline zugeordnet bleiben.

Die Vorbereitung der täglichen Visite ist eine herausfordernde Aufgabe für jedes Ärzteteam: Zahlreiche verschiedene Dokumente wie Indikationen, Laborbefunde, Berichte, Arztbriefe, Radiologieaufnahmen, etc. müssen in die Entscheidungen bezüglich Diagnosen und Behandlungen eines jeden Patienten miteinbezogen werden. Medizinische Informationssysteme spielen eine zentrale Rolle in diesem Prozess. Sie bieten Zugriff auf hunderte medizinische Dokumente. Allerdings können in der für jeden Patienten zur Verfügung stehenden Zeit nur wenige Dokumente berücksichtigt werden. Typischerweise können medizinische Informationssysteme jedoch relevante nicht von irrelevanten Dokumenten trennen oder verschiedene Informationsquellen in ein stimmiges Gesamtbild integrieren. Konkret soll ein interaktives Multi-Touch-Tisch Interface entwickelt werden, auf dem mehrere Dokumente simultan präsentiert und verglichen werden können.


Dadurch sollen die zur Stellung einer korrekten Diagnose oder einer Behandlungsentscheidung nötige Zeit und die erforderlichen kognitive Ressourcen der Medizinerinnen und Mediziner reduziert werden. Da das System als Multi-User-Anwendung implementiert wird und durch intuitive Gesten wie Drehen, Schieben oder Großziehen gesteuert werden kann, bietet es auch die Möglichkeit, Gruppendiskussionen während der Visitenvorbereitung zu unterstützen. Die zentralen Elemente des kognitiven Interface und diesbezügliche Annahmen werden in drei Laborstudien getestet. Zusätzlich wird der neue Prototyp im Rahmen einer Usability-Studie mit dem momentan am Universitätsklinikum Tübingen im Einsatz befindlichen Standardsystem verglichen.

Kooperationen

Prof. Dr. med. Michael Bitzer, Medizinische Klinik Tübingen